PDA

View Full Version : Harrower's Mortifier



Qwicol
04-09-2010, 05:08 AM
Harrower's mortifier can make attacks regardless of LOS.
And there's my question:
Can Harrower shoot backwards?

WMPlayer
04-09-2010, 06:07 AM
No. The Harrower ignores LOS but there is nothing in the LOS rules about front arc. However, the Facing rules say that models typically make attack through their front arc (meaning you need a special rule to make attacks through your back arc). The Harrower doesn't have a rule that grants 360 degree front arc (like the Deathjack does), so its attack must be made through the front arc.

vintersbastard
04-09-2010, 11:11 AM
No. The Harrower ignores LOS but there is nothing in the LOS rules about front arc.
Actually, there is:
"1. Draw a straight line from any part of Model A?s volume to any part of Model B?s volume that is within Model A?s front arc."
First step of LOS determination, that is.


However, the Facing rules say that models typically make attack through their front arc (meaning you need a special rule to make attacks through your back arc).
"Typically" is more probably supposed to mean that there can be exceptions to this without specifically stating it. (Other rules do not include such a stipulation about common cases, but are ignored by special rules nonetheless.)

Ranged attacks can be declared against any target in LOS (p.56), which would usually be limited by the front arc. The Harrower doesn't need LOS, so he can ignore ranged attacks regardless of it, including front arc.

MindwormJim
04-10-2010, 10:37 AM
Prime Mk II Rules PDF, Page 54
Section: Ranged Attack
Sub-Section: Declaring a Target

"Unless a model?s special rules say otherwise, it can make ranged attacks only against models in its front arc."

Oniwasabi
04-10-2010, 12:47 PM
for better reference, that same line is on page 56 of Prime MK II, under the same Declaring a Target header.

vintersbastard
04-10-2010, 04:23 PM
Danged, you're right, I should have read on. :o