PDA

View Full Version : Desperate Pace and Reform



negajoule
12-05-2013, 05:48 PM
Can the 2" of extra movement from Desperate Pace be used during a Reform movement?
Desperate Pace states "... gains +2" movement during its activation this turn."
Reform states "... after all models in its unit have completed their actions, each can advance up to 3"."

The Reform advance is an Advance movement that seems to still be during the units activation as opposed to after or at the end of the activation. Desperate Pace does not specify the added movement is added to movement phase movement, just during activation.

To go way out on a limb, could you use 1"in movement phase and the other 1" on the Reform?

arkol
12-05-2013, 05:54 PM
I'm pretty sure you can't. IIRC the reasoning is that movement modifiers apply to a models normal movement (ie: full advance, charge or run).

hamsandwich50
12-05-2013, 06:33 PM
Yeah you can't use the desperate pace movement on reform since reform states specifically 3''. But if an ability allows a full advance (like Sprint) movement modifiers don't apply but SPD modifiers do. So desperate pace would not apply but press forward would for an ability like sprint.

Mod_Neldar
12-05-2013, 06:34 PM
Bonuses to movement apply only during the model's normal movement. Reform is not normal movement.

Leonard_Dukes
12-05-2013, 06:38 PM
Modifiers to movement apply only to the model's normal movement, while modifiers to its SPD apply when ever themodel's SPD is used.


Normal Movement refers to the movement a model makes during the movement portion of its activation.


[...] after all models in its unit have completed their actions, each can advance up to 3".

Since Reform occurs after completion of actions, and movement bonuses only apply during the "normal movement" portion of a model's activation, a model with Reform does not benefit from a +X" movement bonus during its Reform advance.

negajoule
12-06-2013, 04:30 AM
Thanks for the quick replies and rules quotes.