PDA

View Full Version : Multi-weapon CMA and Charge



dudinator
12-08-2013, 01:56 PM
Let's assume we have 4 Satyxis Raiders all declaring a charge (models A, B, C, and D). All are successful at reaching the target (within 0.5") and can get the boost. The attacking model will always be the one using the lacerator.

Model A CMA's her lacerator with B's horns. This attack (assuming a hit) gets the charge boost.

Now, model B CMA's her lacerator with model C's horns. Does this attack get the boost?

Next model C lacerator and D horns. Situation should be the same as B-C.

Finally: model D's lacerator and model A's horns combine. Will this attack get the boost?

Essentially: can I CMA in a circle for 4 charge attacks, or group them in pairs for 2-4 CMA charge attacks?

Thank you.

Stormpuppy_Infantry
12-08-2013, 02:02 PM
By CMA rule, if you perform CMA at charge attack, all attack they participate is must be charge attack to gain boosted damage by charge attack. If trooper A and B use charge attack to CMA and C use non charge attack, then CMA's damage will not boosted.

Well, but you may participate CMA with diffrent weapon.

Wraithe
12-08-2013, 02:07 PM
Reference prime pg 62.

You will only get the charge bonus on cma if all participants use their charge attack. You can use the waterfall effect to pair lacerators with horns but in your example only 2 of the attacks will be charge attacks.

Eg; A uses lacerators with B horns (charge). C uses lacerator with D horns (charge). B lacerator, A horns (no charge). Repeat for C/D.

Stormpuppy_Infantry
12-08-2013, 02:28 PM
And the choice of weapon is irrelevant with this subject. You may use any weapon to perform charge attack if you can attack with that, and you may choose which weapon is used for attack in every attack.

Wraithe
12-08-2013, 04:57 PM
i believe the purpose of using specific weapons in this case is so that the charge attacks are done with a higher power weapon that causes feedback.

solkan
12-08-2013, 06:06 PM
Let's assume we have 4 Satyxis Raiders all declaring a charge (models A, B, C, and D). All are successful at reaching the target (within 0.5") and can get the boost. The attacking model will always be the one using the lacerator.

Model A CMA's her lacerator with B's horns. This attack (assuming a hit) gets the charge boost.

A and B are both using their first attack. So the combined result in a charge attack.


Now, model B CMA's her lacerator with model C's horns. Does this attack get the boost?
Next model C lacerator and D horns. Situation should be the same as B-C.
Finally: model D's lacerator and model A's horns combine. Will this attack get the boost?

Essentially: can I CMA in a circle for 4 charge attacks, or group them in pairs for 2-4 CMA charge attacks?


That's B's second attack. So it is not a charge attack.
And then C's second attack. So, again, not a charge attack.
And then again because A's second attack is being contributed.

The model's first attack, whether performed or contributed, is its charge attack.

A non-charge attack combined with a charge attack disqualifies the combined attack for the charge bonus.

Reference: https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?147689-Combined-Ranged-Attack-Combined-Melee-Attack-and-Multiple-Attacks&p=1919880&viewfull=1#post1919880
Lots of good info in the threads linked to.


For four models, pairing attacks together, you are at best going to get two combined attacks that will be charge attacks.