View Full Version : Charging past a target?

04-11-2010, 01:31 AM
On a Dutch forum there is currently some discussion if the following below is possible. I doubt it is, but I can't pin it in the rules.

The example is given with Karchev and a wardog, say 5" in front of him.
Karchev charges the wardog in such a line that he can move past it's base and charges the full 9", past the wardog. Then he needs to face the dog so he turns around, of course dropping a few heavies in his back arc because of tow when he does so. Karchev's activation is over because he has failed his charge, but the heavies have been delivered an additional 3".

Schematic: http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v194/malebolgia/karchev.png

According to the rules on charging you must keep moving to get the dog in melee range, but after that you can stop at any time. Does that mean you can let the dog leave your melee range again? I doubt it, but I would liek to know for sure :)

04-11-2010, 02:57 AM
According to the charge rules if your charge target enters your melee range during your charge it must remain in your melee range for the entire charge or the charge fails. If your charge fails your activation immediately ends.

In the example in that image as far as I can tell from the rules Karchev would fail his charge an end his activation at the exact point where the War Dog left his front arc.

04-11-2010, 02:57 AM
Edited becasue I was incorrect.

04-11-2010, 07:46 AM
There's actually already a thread with this exact topic going on right now, also on the front page. No definite answer as to the specifics that you are questioning on, but it should be slightly helpful.
here (http://www.privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?t=17943).

04-15-2010, 02:22 AM
Legal tactic.