PDA

View Full Version : Question on point values for Specialists - can you remove more than you put in?



Delrogue
01-07-2014, 05:26 PM
Quick question on the Specialists rule.

In a 50pt event with Specialists (say... Iron Gauntlet), you are allowed to put in up to 10pts of specialists. The final list you have after substitutions needs to be a legal list with all requirements.

If I have a 50pt army with an 11pt Jack/Beast in the standard list (say.. Tiberion), and I have a Specialist unit worth 9pts (Incindiarii).

Am I allowed to remove the 11pt Tiberion and replace it with the 9pt Incindiarii unit? With the Incindiarii in the list, the list is only 48pts, but that is still a legal list size in a 50pt event.

I presume I can since it is not mentioned anywhere in the specialist rules saying the point values have to be the same.. but I thought I would double check since it is a bit unusual.

Thanks in advance.

Stormpuppy_Infantry
01-07-2014, 10:37 PM
48 is not same with 50, so no.

SageofLodoss
01-08-2014, 12:00 AM
48 is not same with 50, so no.

I don't believe this is true. You don't have to use all 10 allowed points, so Incindiari being the specialist is fine, and it doesn't say the swap has to be for the exact same value, so dropping 11 points to make room for the 9 seems fine. Steamroller is clear that an army that is up to 2 points down is still legal, so one variant of a specialist list that comes out to 48/50 should be legal.

Stormpuppy_Infantry
01-08-2014, 12:09 AM
I don't believe this is true. You don't have to use all 10 allowed points, so Incindiari being the specialist is fine, and it doesn't say the swap has to be for the exact same value, so dropping 11 points to make room for the 9 seems fine. Steamroller is clear that an army that is up to 2 points down is still legal, so one variant of a specialist list that comes out to 48/50 should be legal.

Ah, I see. I misunderstood that OP says there must be same points.

Delrogue
01-08-2014, 03:30 AM
Guess that is a tacit yes. Awesome. :)

Hacksaw76
01-08-2014, 06:18 AM
The list must be legal after changes. The same total is not required. Therefore removing 11 and putting in 10 is OK so long as you are not more than 2 points down.