PDA

View Full Version : Lightning Generator - Which parts are simultaneous?



alexandyr
01-11-2014, 07:14 PM
This has come up frequently in games where I am using Nemo 3 and a Storm Strider against Protectorate lists using Exemplar Errants.

The question is one of timing, hinging on whether the lightning arcs generated by Lightning Generator are simultaneous with the original attack, or before the original attack (like Electroleap has been ruled to be (https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?180661-Electro-Leap-clarification)), and secondly whether the arc damage rolls are simultaneous with each other or entirely sequential. The confusing part of the wording of Lightning Generator (and Chain Lightning) is the use of the word "consecutive" which implies that the arcs may not be simultaneous.

The answer determines which Errants (if any) may be Self-Sacrificed to pre-empt damage from one or more of the other damage rolls.

Example: Errant A is hit and a 3 is rolled for arcs, hitting Errants B, C, and D "consecutively" - for the sake of simplicity, we will assume that all damage rolls are sufficient to kill their targets.

1) All damage is simultaneous - none of these 4 models can self sacrifice for another (though other models in the unit may self sacrifice for them.)
2) All arc damage is simultaneous, but before the original attack's damage roll - Errant A can be sacrificed to save B, C, or D, so the damage roll on A is wasted.
3) All arc damage is sequential and before the original attack's damage roll - Errant C can self sacrifice to saving Errant B and Errant A can self sacrifice to save Errant D, so the damage rolls on C and A are wasted.

Which version is correct?

Based on other threads on arcs, I realize that the answer may be "no one knows whether or not the arcs from Lightning Generator are attacks" (which really, REALLY, needs to be resolved) - if so, same question with warlock transferring - if a warlock and a warbeast are both hit by by part of a lightning generator attack, in what cases can the warlock transfer to the warbeast before damage on the warbeast is resolved?

Falkman
01-11-2014, 07:22 PM
The arcs definitely happen before the original attack's damage roll, since the trigger is exactly the same as for Electro leaps; when a model is hit with this weapon.
Chain lightning arcs are simultaneous and since Lightning generator uses the same wording it stands to reason that arcs from it are simultaneous as well. www.privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?86280-Chain-Lightning-Simultaneous-Damage