PDA

View Full Version : Do Jack Marshalled Bersekers get to "charge for Free"



Sand20go
01-13-2014, 07:30 PM
Aggressive reads - "The model can run or charge without spending focus or being forced".

The Jack Marshal section is long but key phrase is "Once during each of its activation while in its controller's command range, a warjack controlled by a JM can gain one of the following benefits.....can use its normal movement to run or charge."

I can see a rules lawyer in our meta arguing strongly that since Aggressive doesn't refer to JM specifically (and just forcing and focus) that the JM rule is the one that applies. Thus if the Zerker wants to charge, no boosted attacks, damage, or extra attack. Of course said rules lawyer doesn't play khador ;-)

FoolishMonkey
01-13-2014, 07:38 PM
In terms of Focus yes their charge is free. They get a choice of what to do.

yshsalas
01-13-2014, 07:39 PM
https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?15718-man-o-war-kovnik-s-ability

Check out post number 5.
This one was never commented on by an infernal, but it was not refuted by anyone.

It also confirms what my gut was thinking that the Berserker does get to charge without spending focus or being forced even when jack marshalled.

Stormpuppy_Infantry
01-13-2014, 08:01 PM
In warjack rule warjacks must spend focus to charge. Jack marshal benefits allows bend the basic rule. Agressive also does same. Regardless it was controlled by warcaster or jack marshal, or is autonomous, it can use agressive. No problem.

sleet01
01-13-2014, 08:03 PM
Yes. This is analogous to Thor Steinhammer marshalling a Basher, which can still make use of its Grand Slam rule to make free Slam power attacks. Or marshalled Accumulator warjacks using the free focus from Accumulator to make Charge or Power attacks without using the Marshal benefit. The 'Jack Marshal rules are non-restrictive; any rule that allows a Special or Power attack to be made for free can be used alongside 'Jack Marshal benefits.