PDA

View Full Version : KD and Orders



Loki77515
04-13-2010, 10:16 PM
A leader that is knocked down can stand up and issue an order like charging running or, in the case of Burrowers, Tunneling, right?

Stevo
04-13-2010, 11:44 PM
Nope. A unit must be given its order at the beginning of its activation. Models that are knocked down may not give orders.

The first part of activating a unit is determining that all models in the unit are within the Command Range of the leader. Since the rules concerning issuing orders state that it happens at the beginning of the activation, this happens after ensuring that the models in the unit are in formation.

The second part of activating is movement, and the third is the action.

It would look like this:
1. Select Unit
2. Determine that all models are in formation
3. Issue Orders
4. Movement
5. Action

Hope that helps!

Der Dexter
04-14-2010, 12:38 AM
http://www.privateerpressforums.com/showpost.php?p=67785&postcount=8

Not accordind to this. taken from a thread that went on a bit longer, until Maudlin cleared it.
standing up and issuing orders appear to happen at the sime time, thus owning player deciding the order of operations.

Hjelmen0
04-14-2010, 01:49 AM
Shouldn't the Activation Timing in Appendix A tell you how this would work?

Activation Timing

Resolve effects that occur before activating.
Resolve effects that occur at the beginning of activation.
Resolve all required forfeiture of movement and action.
If activating a unit, the unit commander can issue an order.


So the leader (and the rest of the unit) must resolve forfeiture to stand, and then the order can be issued.

EDIT: I can see that Maudlin's "ruling" is contrary to the rules as written, since it doesn't seem that there is much choice in the resolution sequence of the Activation Timing steps...

Macallan
04-14-2010, 02:02 AM
Stand up then issue order.