PDA

View Full Version : Hallowed Avenger + Assault



Yurimow
04-14-2010, 10:50 PM
http://www.privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?t=9061&highlight=reckoner+activation

as said in the link above, assault works also outside activation. What
happens when a reckoner charges out of activation thanks to hallowed
avenger a model he is already in melee with? He won't get the boosted
melee roll, but will he do the assault attack or not? He definetly is in melee
with the charge target at the beginning of his charge movement, BUT not
at the beginning of his activation, since he is not activating. So
theoretically he should do the assault attack.


For reference
Hallowed Avenger
"When an enemy attack destroys or removes from play one or more
friendly Faction models within 5˝ of target warjack in this modelʼs
battlegroup, after the attack is resolved the affected warjack can charge
an enemy model, then Hallowed Avenger expires."

Assault
"As part of a charge, after moving but before making its charge attack,
this model can make one ranged attack targeting the model charged
unless they were in melee with each other at the start of this modelʼs
activation. When resolving an Assault ranged attack, the attacking model
does not suffer the target in melee penalty. If the target is not in melee
range after moving, this model can make the Assault ranged attack
before its activation ends."

kc7sbp
04-15-2010, 12:12 AM
If assault is a *attack for the reckoner then you can't ever use assault off hallowed avenger as *attacks are prohibited on charges outside activation per the rules listed on pg. 47 MKII Prime under Charges Outside of Activation.

If it's a *action then you can't ever use it off Hallowed Avenger since you're not activating and don't have an action, you're just gaining a charge attack from Hallowed Avenger.

If it's just a trait then possibly, but I'd wait on an Infernal ruling before you try and pull that on someone since it seems pretty off that you'd be specifically restricted from using it in that manner during activation, but not when it's off a reactive ability outside activation.

vintersbastard
04-15-2010, 02:00 AM
@Yurimov:
As you rightly pointed out, Assault is only prevented if the charge target was in melee with the assaulting model at the start of activation. Since a model under Hallowed Avenger is not activating, this limitation does not apply. Assault away to your heart's content.

Lord Hedrahil
04-15-2010, 08:07 AM
erm...

Its something strange...

If the target is in mele range.... you coud not charge him first because you dont use the 3¨ neded to charge, so it woud be a failed one..

vintersbastard
04-15-2010, 08:27 AM
erm...

Its something strange...

If the target is in mele range.... you coud not charge him first because you dont use the 3¨ neded to charge, so it woud be a failed one..

You might want to look at the charge rules again. :)
Not moving at least 3" will prevent you from making a charge attack, thereby not gaining a boosted damage roll, but you still get to make an attack. (And distance to the charge target is irrelevant for the selection of a charge target.)
Failed charges are something completely different.
Anyway, those don't impact Assaults, as you make the ranged attack even if you fail the charge.