PDA

View Full Version : Newb Q: Focus & Extra attacks in Melee



yastobaal
04-15-2010, 06:03 AM
Ok, total new person who has slightly confused himself here. Played 4 games of Warmachine so far and totally love it but I have a quick question.

A 'jack charges in (lets say it has two open fists) and its first attack is boosted. This only applies to the first fist used and not the second, correct?

Same 'jack then uses one bit of focus to attack again. This is only with one of its weapons, correct?

Macallan
04-15-2010, 06:08 AM
You get one attack with each melee weapon.
The first attack, if it hits, has its damage automatically boosted by the charge.

After your "free" attacks are resolved, you may buy additional attack. Each focus spend grants one attack with the melee weapon of your choice.

yastobaal
04-15-2010, 06:14 AM
This place is great. An answer within 5 minutes. Thanks Macallan.

Tarzen
04-15-2010, 06:24 AM
And from an infernal no less (notice the purple name, means he is "official" with rules comments).

Just a little more specifically, if you have 3 focus on your, say Cyclone, and it charges (spend 1 foc to charge), it would make one attack with any melee weapon. The damage from that attack would be auto boosted from the charge-note, you can't boost the damage again but could boost the attack (to hit) roll. Next, you may continue to make one attack with all your other initial attacks (your other fist) for free but they are not boosted. They may be made against any model in your front arc, in LOS, and within melee range of said weapon. After that, you would have two focus left with which you could buy two more attacks from any weapon at the cost of one attack per foc.
BTW, welcome to the boards!