PDA

View Full Version : Obstructions = Cover?



Shadow37
04-15-2010, 09:11 AM
Do obstructions, by definition, provide a cover bonus? When I looked up "obstructions" in the rule book it gave examples of what could be considered as an obstruction, but it doesn't actually say that onstructions provide a cover bonus.

CT GAMER
04-15-2010, 09:14 AM
Already ruled on about three days ago( sort of):

https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?t=18580


Also a discussion about the terrain we used in that game:
https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?t=18622

Mod_Redphantasm
04-15-2010, 09:14 AM
A model within 1˝ of a terrain feature that obscures
any portion of its base from an attacker can gain either
a concealment or cover bonus, depending on the type
of terrain, to its DEF against ranged and magic attacks.

Shadow37
04-15-2010, 09:29 AM
Already ruled on about three days ago( sort of):

https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?t=18580


Also a discussion about the terrain we used in that game:
https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?t=18622

Thanks. Since the book uses types of obstuctions as examples of cover I assumed all obstructions granted cover. Case in point, I thought every terrain feature that fell under the umbrella of "obstruction" provided a cover bonus.

Good to know :)

jonconcarne
04-15-2010, 09:57 AM
Thanks. Since the book uses types of obstuctions as examples of cover I assumed all obstructions granted cover. Case in point, I thought every terrain feature that fell under the umbrella of "obstruction" provided a cover bonus.

Good to know :)

I would disagree on the "all obstructions" portion. I would say all solid obstructions. A barbed wire fence or a little wooden fence should not provide cover in my opinion. But as long as this is all agreed upon before the game, it doesn't really matter. Just be consistent with opponents.

vintersbastard
04-15-2010, 01:34 PM
I would disagree on the "all obstructions" portion. I would say all solid obstructions. A barbed wire fence or a little wooden fence should not provide cover in my opinion. But as long as this is all agreed upon before the game, it doesn't really matter. Just be consistent with opponents.

Indeed. The only defining term of obstructions is that they are 1" or higher terrain features. Solidity (the basis for the cover/concealment differentiation) does not enter that.

Macallan
04-15-2010, 03:04 PM
I never played with obstructions that did not provide cover but it is not a rule. Obstructions do not provide cover by definition.

Shadow37
04-16-2010, 03:23 AM
I never played with obstructions that did not provide cover but it is not a rule. Obstructions do not provide cover by definition.

Same here. That's why I was confused at first :)