PDA

View Full Version : Model/Unit Sub-types and Spell Eligibility



Jhokalups
03-04-2014, 08:59 PM
I just want to make sure that I have this correct based on today's discussion.

From this (https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?193080-Check-your-facts-please)thread we have this statement:


Is that something recent or something old?

At this point, that post has been superseded by more recent discussions and decisions.

We recently had some revised discussions in the Infernal Forum regarding sub-types and how to be sure we're applying them consistently across all spells, feats, abilities, theme forces, etc. The four bullet points Edwars wrote out covers pretty much any question regarding how sub-types apply, and any ad hoc rulings regarding sub-types are now out of date.

Which strongly implies that this statement from this (https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?24220-living-unit&p=422351) thread is no longer correct:


All models in a unit need to be living for it to qualify. All models are living unless otherwise noted.

This seems to imply that one could now cast Regrowth on Shifting Stones that have their UA or on the Wold Stalkers.

Is this correct?

DrFish
03-04-2014, 09:20 PM
For easier reference, DC confirmed this post as correct:

Quote Originally Posted by Edwars View Post
If I understand thus correctly, it breaks down like this:

1. if a unit is natively comprised of models with separate subtypes, the unit counts as all included subtypes for the purposes of list building and abilities. Eg. The Hunters Grimm counts as both a pyg and troll kin unit, and thus may be joined by a troll kin sorcerer (which can only join troll kin units).

2. Models in such a combined unit do not gain additional subtypes. Eg Grimm Angus goes not gain the subtype pyg, nor do Krump and Mugs gain the subtype troll kin.

3. All models in such composite units are affected by spells and abilities that target any of their included subtypes. Eg. Any mercenary unit joined by Capt. Jonas Murdoch would be affected by Desperate Pace from Capt. Maxwell Finn, which affects trencher units (that the unit now counts as because of Jonas)

4. Spells and abilities which target an individual model's subtype are resolved on individual basis in such composite units. Eg. Mercenary troopers in a unit joined by Capt. Jonas Murdoch cannot benefit from Maxwell Finn's Veteran Leader ability, as they themselves do not become trencher models.

From one of the locked threads quoted by Valander. In this case, it would seem that number 4 would answer the question. I would hazard to say that the unit could be targeted, but only the living models would receive the benefit?

Valander
03-04-2014, 09:34 PM
Previously, Maudlin answered as this... Is the [quoted] post by Maudlin still true?
Is that something recent or something old?

At this point, that post has been superseded by more recent discussions and decisions.

We recently had some revised discussions in the Infernal Forum regarding sub-types and how to be sure we're applying them consistently across all spells, feats, abilities, theme forces, etc. The four bullet points Edwars wrote out covers pretty much any question regarding how sub-types apply, and any ad hoc rulings regarding sub-types are now out of date.

Answered in this post: #21 (https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?193080-Check-your-facts-please&p=2541357&viewfull=1#post2541357)