PDA

View Full Version : Quick reference question



MikePiercePhotos
03-13-2014, 05:53 PM
Warcaster is engaged. Wants to cast a magical ranged attack at a target outside of his engagement. Can he?

MikePiercePhotos
03-13-2014, 05:54 PM
It is an offensive ranged attack

Stormpuppy_Infantry
03-13-2014, 06:10 PM
You can't make ranged attack while in melee, so no without Gunfighter. It is not spell so at first you can't try to do.

Falkman
03-13-2014, 06:18 PM
Warcaster is engaged. Wants to cast a magical ranged attack at a target outside of his engagement. Can he?

It is an offensive ranged attack

You need to be clearer here. A magical ranged attack is a ranged attack (ie shooting, like guns or crossbows) with a magical weapon. Is this what you mean or do you actually mean an offensive spell?
You cannot fire a ranged weapon out of combat unless you have a special rule that allows it, but you can cast spells, even offensive ones, out of combat.

Boris YELLtsin
03-13-2014, 06:38 PM
There are two things we need to distinguish here: Magic Attack and Magical Attack.

Magical is an attack property. Things like attacks made with magical weapons and offensive spells have the magical property attached to it. This means they can harm incorporeal models, etc.

Magic attacks are offensive spells. Note, while they may share many similar rules a Magic Attack is NOT a Ranged Attack.

You can make Magic Attacks while engaged no problem. However, you cannot make ranged attacks while engaged (unless you have a special rule that states otherwise) regardless of whether or not is is Magical.

toxicwisdom
03-14-2014, 03:15 AM
The situation involved, a Warcaster ( pMagnus ) being engaged with Model A ( Blackbane Raider ) and wanting to cast Obliteration at Model B ( Wraith Witch Deneghra ) that is outside of the engagement.

Mod_Neldar
03-14-2014, 03:26 AM
The situation involved, a Warcaster ( pMagnus ) being engagef with Model A ( Blackbane Raider ) and wanting to cast Obliteration at Model B ( Wraith Witch Deneghra ) that is outside of the engagement.

That works just fine.