PDA

View Full Version : Deadeye and a Warcaster's second shot



Juris
03-14-2014, 08:06 AM
Deadeye reads "Target friendly model/unit gains an additional die on each model's first ranged attack roll this turn."

Warcasters such as pCaine, Kara Sloan (with Reinholdt), Haley 1 and 2 (with Reinholdt), etc., have both the Deadeye spell and the ability to make more than one shot during their activation.

Question: Given the way that Deadeye is written, can such a caster activate, take its first shot, cast deadeye on itself, then take its second shot and benefit from Deadeye?

If read strictly, the answer would seem to be no. However, if interpreted to mean that the model gains an additional die on its first ranged attack roll after Deadeye is cast, then the answer would be yes. It would seem that the spell would say "on each model's next ranged attack roll" if that were the case, so I'm assuming the answer to the question is no.

Stormpuppy_Infantry
03-14-2014, 08:09 AM
No, because Deadeye only affects for first ranged attack roll of this turn. Your caster may cast second Deadeye but they can't have any additional dice of attack roll for second or later attacks by Deadeye.

Juris
03-14-2014, 08:29 AM
No, because Deadeye only affects for first shot of this turn. Your caster may cast second Deadeye but they can't have any additional attack roll for second or later attacks.

What? What do you mean "they can't have any additional attack roll"?

Also, to be quite clear, Deadeye does not effect the first shot, but the first ranged attack roll. So if a model with Deadeye declares a target for a ranged attack, but the target is out of range, no attack roll is made and Deadeye does not expire.

Stormpuppy_Infantry
03-14-2014, 08:31 AM
What? What do you mean "they can't have any additional attack roll"?

Also, to be quite clear, Deadeye does not effect the first shot, but the first ranged attack roll. So if a model with Deadeye declares a target for a ranged attack, but the target is out of range, no attack roll is made and Deadeye does not expire.

Oops. I mean, Deadeye does not gives additional dice for second or later attack roll.

Stormpuppy_Infantry
03-14-2014, 08:47 AM
Also, to be quite clear, Deadeye does not effect the first shot, but the first ranged attack roll. So if a model with Deadeye declares a target for a ranged attack, but the target is out of range, no attack roll is made and Deadeye does not expire.

https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?63815-CRA-Dual-Shot-Deadeye

Yes. It affects first ranged attack roll so maybe it does not expire on out of range.... Anyway, as written it will not expire because you make attack roll when the target is in range. Thanks for correction.

Naahz
03-14-2014, 09:13 AM
If it says "this turn" then it wouldn't matter for the following turn regardless of "expire".

Juris
03-14-2014, 09:17 AM
If it says "this turn" then it wouldn't matter for the following turn regardless of "expire".

You miss the point. If you cast Deadeye on a model with more than one shot, and the model declares a target for its first shot, but that target is out of range, no attack roll is made and Deadeye does not expire. The model then declares a target for its second shot, and if the model is in range and an attack roll is made, then deadeye does add an additional die to the roll.

StraTosSpeAr
03-14-2014, 09:51 AM
You miss the point. If you cast Deadeye on a model with more than one shot, and the model declares a target for its first shot, but that target is out of range, no attack roll is made and Deadeye does not expire. The model then declares a target for its second shot, and if the model is in range and an attack roll is made, then deadeye does add an additional die to the roll.

You're right about the question in the OP. You would not get your second attack boosted, because it specifies your "first ranged attack roll for the turn".

As for being out of range, since it specifies your "first ranged attack roll", The spell wouldn't expire in either of these situations.

Naahz
03-25-2014, 07:57 AM
You miss the point. If you cast Deadeye on a model with more than one shot, and the model declares a target for its first shot, but that target is out of range, no attack roll is made and Deadeye does not expire. The model then declares a target for its second shot, and if the model is in range and an attack roll is made, then deadeye does add an additional die to the roll.

You sort of changed the question from the Original Post Juris. Maybe you intended for it to ask the question in light of a missed first shot from the start but that's not really what you asked. The answer to the first question was No. Given that the answer was no, when you started talking about it not expiring I offered the additional information that it would not help on the first ranged attack roll on subsequent turns either because of the limitation placed on its duration.