PDA

View Full Version : spells and affect stacking from different sources. GROLAR CHARGE 17"



charlzheimer
03-16-2014, 03:07 AM
a debate and a idea came to mind recently with the new khadorian GROLAR.

SOOOO imagine this.

kovnik malakov has a grolar and gives it redline, putting the jack on 6 speed.

NOW strakhov gives the grolar superiority, according to interpretation of the quickstart rules, upkeep spells only replace eachother if from the same source.

THEN strakhov POPS feat.

while strakhov and the grolar both have a +" movement ability and redline and superiorty both give a +SPD due to coming from a different source they should stack? yes no?


otherwise you could potentially charge 17" with a khadorian grolar. (4+3 base, +4" feat +2spd redline + 2spd super + 2" grolar)

sooooo in short.

does strakhov his feat stack with the grolar his 2" for 1 focus ability.
and does superiority and redline stack due to coming from a different source?

ShockwaveIIC
03-16-2014, 03:14 AM
a debate and a idea came to mind recently with the new khadorian GROLAR.

SOOOO imagine this.

kovnik malakov has a grolar and gives it redline, putting the jack on 6 speed.

NOW strakhov gives the grolar superiority, according to interpretation of the quickstart rules, upkeep spells only replace eachother if from the same source.

THEN strakhov POPS feat.

while strakhov and the grolar both have a +" movement ability and redline and superiorty both give a +SPD due to coming from a different source they should stack? yes no?


otherwise you could potentially charge 17" with a khadorian grolar. (4+3 base, +4" feat +2spd redline + 2spd super + 2" grolar)

sooooo in short.

does strakhov his feat stack with the grolar his 2" for 1 focus ability.
and does superiority and redline stack due to coming from a different source?A model can only have 1 friendly upkeep (and 1 enemy) at the same time.

charlzheimer
03-16-2014, 03:18 AM
A model can only have 1 friendly upkeep (and 1 enemy) at the same time.

" a model can only have 1 friendly and 1 enemy upkeep spell cast on it at a time. if another upkeep spell is cast on a model that already has one FROM THE SAME SOURCE - friendly or enemy- the earlier upkeep spell expires is and is replaced by the new one"

From the quickstart rules in MKII.

i specifically point to the "SAME source"

WHAT happens then if you cast redline on a model that has superiority from a different caster?

Stormpuppy_Infantry
03-16-2014, 03:21 AM
" a model can only have 1 friendly and 1 enemy upkeep spell cast on it at a time. if another upkeep spell is cast on a model that already has one FROM THE SAME SOURCE - friendly or enemy- the earlier upkeep spell expires is and is replaced by the new one"

From the quickstart rules in MKII.

i specifically point to the "SAME source"

WHAT happens then if you cast redline on a model that has superiority from a different caster?

Past friendly upkeep spell is immediately expired and new upkeep spell is remain.

midas
03-16-2014, 03:22 AM
source is not the model casting, but "friendly" or "enemy" entity.

ShockwaveIIC
03-16-2014, 03:48 AM
" a model can only have 1 friendly and 1 enemy upkeep spell cast on it at a time. if another upkeep spell is cast on a model that already has one FROM THE SAME SOURCE - friendly or enemy- the earlier upkeep spell expires is and is replaced by the new one"

From the quickstart rules in MKII.

i specifically point to the "SAME source"

WHAT happens then if you cast redline on a model that has superiority from a different caster?The quick start rules are designed for battle box games, and in battle box games, there will be only two models that can put upkeeps in to play, 1 will be friendly the other will be enemy.

Page 78 Prime MKII, Under the heading Upkeeps. 2nd paragraph.


A model can have only one instance of each specific upkeep spell in play at a time, but can maintain any number of different upkeep spells simultaneously if it spends enough focus points to do so. A model or unit can have only one friendly and one enemy upkeep spell on it at the a time. If another upkeep spell is cast on a model or unit that already has one from the same side - friendly or enemy - the older upkeep spell expires and is replaced by the newly cast one when the affected model is hit by the spell

StraTosSpeAr
03-16-2014, 09:52 AM
" a model can only have 1 friendly and 1 enemy upkeep spell cast on it at a time. if another upkeep spell is cast on a model that already has one FROM THE SAME SOURCE - friendly or enemy- the earlier upkeep spell expires is and is replaced by the new one"

From the quickstart rules in MKII.

i specifically point to the "SAME source"

WHAT happens then if you cast redline on a model that has superiority from a different caster?

You can only have one friendly upkeep on a model/unit at a time (regardless of the source), as quoted from the full rule book above.

BlueBarren
03-16-2014, 10:01 AM
Also I'm pretty sure the charge target has to be in Strakhovs control area, so unless your Grolar is 5 inches behind Strakhov (which I guess isn't really that hard to do after advancing) you can't get that 17." not that you could anyway, as everyone else pointed out...

FoolishMonkey
03-16-2014, 07:47 PM
But a 15inch charge is still looking pretty damn heathly.