PDA

View Full Version : Are Journeyman Warcasters legal for tournament play at PAX East



dweomer
03-18-2014, 10:48 AM
According to a comment from Valander in this thread (https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?169137-Protectorate-Journeyman-Questions&highlight=journeyman+warcasters): "the Kickstarter models are not yet released; their release will be in April, when shipped from the Kickstarter"

Does this mean that if we receive (and assemble/paint/base) our Kickstarter journeyman rewards prior to PAX East, they will be legal to put in tournament lists at PAX?

Will they count as released at that point (even though they are limited in supply, much like models available at Cons prior to their street dates)?

Mod_Redphantasm
03-18-2014, 10:57 AM
Unknown at this time. This is more a question for the tournament organizer than for the rules forum though.

Stormpuppy_Infantry
03-18-2014, 11:01 AM
A model is classfied as released when the model itself is officially released, or the expasion book that have it is released.

http://privateerpress.com/warmachine/books/warmachine-vengeance

Because new character journeyman warcasters are in Vengeance, at least they are 'released' after the book is released. Anyway, as Redphantasm said, ask it to your TO that you can use these models or not.

LEJ
03-18-2014, 11:07 AM
Note the release of the book never affects the legality of a specific model release.

Models are legal for organised play only after their official release date.

Stormpuppy_Infantry
03-18-2014, 11:08 AM
Note the release of the book never affects the legality of a specific model release.

Models are legal for organised play only after their official release date.

Then release of the book only affects for ruling in here?

LEJ
03-18-2014, 11:35 AM
Usually Infernals will only comment on models that are released or that are in books that are released yes.

Mod_Neldar
03-18-2014, 11:37 AM
A model is classfied as released when the model itself is officially released, or the expasion book that have it is released.

http://privateerpress.com/warmachine/books/warmachine-vengeance

Because new character journeyman warcasters are in Vengeance, at least they are 'released' after the book is released. Anyway, as Redphantasm said, ask it to your TO that you can use these models or not.

That's true only for War Room updates

The release date of the model is the only thing that matters for the legality of that model.

Without a more specific ruling, the novice casters and Sturgis are legal as soon as you get them.

Valander
03-18-2014, 11:38 AM
The Kickstarter shipment is the "official release" for those models. Simon has stated this elsewhere (but my own search is failing me at the moment...)

LEJ
03-18-2014, 11:41 AM
This covers it: They are legal as soon as you get them.


The kickstarter is the official general public release of both Sturgis' and the character novice warcasters. Those models are all immediately tournament legal upon their release.

tuttleboy
03-18-2014, 12:33 PM
It would be cool if the link above was out in the public forums. When I click it, it tells me I don't have permission to access the page so I assume its behind the curtain somewhere.

Stormpuppy_Infantry
03-18-2014, 12:34 PM
Usually Infernals will only comment on models that are released or that are in books that are released yes.


That's true only for War Room updates

The release date of the model is the only thing that matters for the legality of that model.

Without a more specific ruling, the novice casters and Sturgis are legal as soon as you get them.

Thanks for clarification. :)

Valander
03-18-2014, 05:24 PM
And this was the other post I was looking for. General Forum: https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?168105-OFFICIAL-WARMACHINE-Tactics-now-on-Kickstarter

Right from PPS Simon:
Will the Kickstarter-exclusive limited-edition sculpt models be tournament legal when they release?

Yes. This is their official release.