PDA

View Full Version : Hunter, jack marshal and extended control range



midas
03-18-2014, 01:07 PM
Am I assuming correct, that the Hunter's ability of "extended control range" does not apply when being jack marshaled, since jack marshals use "command range", which is based on CMD, instead of "control range" which is based on FOC ?

For your consideration:
The errata's text is: "When checking to see if this model is in its controller’s control area, double the area."
However the original Text included focus allocation: "When checking to see if this model is in its controller’s control area for focus allocation, double the area." This could suggest that the focus portion was intentionally removed to accommodate for jack marshals.

Crate123
03-18-2014, 01:11 PM
You assume correct, its only when controlled by a model that uses CTRL area that it is doubled.
The errata was to make it so for any reason you measure it, its doubled. So if your feat is range CTRL and it affects the Hunter then the range will be doubled to see it is within.

Valander
03-18-2014, 05:21 PM
This could suggest that the focus portion was intentionally removed to accommodate for jack marshals.
This was not the reason for the erratum. Jack Marshals do not have a Control Area, so Extended Control Range has no interaction with them.

Sanguinary Dan
03-18-2014, 09:31 PM
Do note that this limited range based on CMD will only effect the Jack Marshal abilities. There is nothing stopping you from having the jack walk 30" away from the Marshal. It might not be smart, but it is legal.

Wether or not Rune Shot would still apply in the case of the ATGM UA when the Hunter is outside CMD is beyond my pay grade.

itchmonkey
03-18-2014, 10:03 PM
Makes sense imho. Imagine the "extended" enhancement is only added to a Hunter's cortex, hence warcaster & juniors can use it for double-the-control-area.

However lowly jack marshalls (e.g. ATGM UA) would still have to shout to control the warjack, hence using his/her CMD area.