PDA

View Full Version : Galleon Drag Broadsides Harpoon Cannon Melee Attack After Drag (Warroom2-24-2014)



Naahz
03-19-2014, 11:26 AM
I try to put as many keywords as possible in for the next chap:

"Drag - If this weapon damages an enemy model with an equal or smaller base, immediately after the attack is resolved the damaged model can be pushed any distance directly towards this model. After the damaged model is moved, this model can make one normal melee attack against the model pushed. After Resolving this melee attack, this model can make additional melee attacks during its combat action." (From Galleon Card Warroom v. 2-24-2014)

"Broadside - Models in this model's battlegroup currently in its control area can immediately make one normal ranged attack. Attacks gained from Broadside do not count against a weapon's ROF. Broadside can be cast once per turn." (From Captain Bartolo Montador Card Warroom v. 2-24-2014)

By my read of this interaction, if Bart casts Broadside, and the galleon hits and damages a model, that model is dragged and then the Galleon can take a single normal melee attack against the dragged model if it ends the drag resolution in melee range of the Galleon.

Thank you,
N

edit - typo

Stormpuppy_Infantry
03-19-2014, 11:37 AM
Yes. Galleon can make a normal melee attack followed a Harpoon ranged attack by Broadside. What questions you ask? If you wonder is that possible, then yes you can.

bahamuth
03-19-2014, 11:18 PM
You listed the correct rules and understood the interaction. As 'Drag' has no "in his activation"-modifier, this should be perfectly legal. Note that you can't buy additional attacks out-of-activation (although it seems that you are aware of that). I don't see a question either, but there are several threads regarding the functionality of this ability. So you might give 'Forum Search' a try ;)

jdelrio22
03-20-2014, 08:58 AM
But arent you using your action to make a ranged attack?

Does this mean that arcuarii make a second melee attack after resolving drag/melee attack?

Crate123
03-20-2014, 09:28 AM
But arent you using your action to make a ranged attack?

Does this mean that arcuarii make a second melee attack after resolving drag/melee attack?

They have no way of "buying" additional attacks so only the ranged attack followed up by the free melee attack, nothing more.

jandrese
03-20-2014, 09:38 AM
Even though Drag allows you to make a melee attack, it doesn't change the fact that the model chose the ranged attack option when it started its action. Drag also allows you to use whatever mechanism you have to buy additional melee attacks, but unfortunately Arcuarii don't have such a mechanism and only get to make the melee attack granted by the Drag rule.

The Arcuarii would need to have Virtuoso to make their initial melee attack in addition to the drag attack.

midas
03-20-2014, 11:45 AM
reference to a very similar Q:
https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?194808-Drag-out-of-activation-and-additional-attacks-after-activate&p=2565723&viewfull=1#post2565723

Macallan
04-08-2014, 01:28 PM
The last sentence of Drag only applies if Drag is used during your activation.