PDA

View Full Version : collossals and tier benefits



Morry
03-20-2014, 03:07 PM
Is there a definitive list anywhere for which tier benefits collossals and gargantuans get a benefit for?
Namely when is a collossal considered a warjack for tier benefits and also advance deploy and advance move benefits
Cheers Morry

Blailah
03-20-2014, 03:19 PM
Colossal never can get Advance Deploy or Advance Move. And I believe only the Cryx Kraken is only set apart from regular warjack benefits because Cryx uses Bonejacks and Helljacks (unless the tier says warjack), even the Retribution of Scyrah's Hyperion counts as a Mermadon(sp?)

onthedownlow
03-20-2014, 03:29 PM
No, there is not.

However, try to apply the following logic where possible.

A Colossal is a Warjack. A Gargantuan is a Warbeast. Any benefit that specifically mentions 'Warjack' or 'Warbeast' can effect them, with the exception that they cannot be redeployed, gain Stealth or Advance Deployment, and cannot gain Advance Move (I think that just about covers the usual benefits, the list may not be exhaustive).

If a Tier benefit specifically mentions a Heavy or Light Warjack or Warbeast, or Bonejack or Helljack, then a Colossal / Gargantuan cannot benefit from those rules as it is not any of those.

Please note however that a Hyperion does qualify as a Myrmidon.

Celebros
03-20-2014, 03:32 PM
Colossals/Gargantuans qualify for Tier bonuses when they specificly refer to "huge base models", "colossals/gargantuans" or in situations when the reference is simply to "warjacks" or "warbeasts".

Colossals/Gargantuans can never benefit from Advance Deployment due to the "Great Machine" rule and can never benefit from Advance Move due to movement restrictions limiting colossals/gargantuans to being able to "only advance during its normal movement".

Mod_Neldar
03-20-2014, 06:35 PM
Honestly this is easier to answer with specific theme forces than as a general rule.

Vorath
03-21-2014, 08:23 AM
*edit/retype* If an effect is allowed to trigger on a huge based model (such as +spd during activation, or +str on attack) then it will happen during the activation of the model and apply, otherwise no bonuses will apply as generally tier bonuses are limited to AD/Stealth/Speed/Redeploy.
I'm pretty sure you can buff the spd stat on a colossal as long as it affects the movement he is allotted during his activation and is not "placing" (just propelling it slightly faster for a turn).

Grey Templar
03-21-2014, 08:31 AM
Colossals and Gargantuans are both Jacks/Beasts. They are not Heavy or Lights though, they are their own category, so any bonus which mentions those doesn't work.

But any ability that just says jacks/beasts will work, provided it isn't prohibited by the general colossal/gargantuan rules. Like AD or Advance Move.

A tier that said "reduce the cost of warjacks by 1" would work on a colossal, but if it said "reduce to cost of heavy warjacks by 1" wouldn't.


Also, for inclusion in a tier, unless the tier specifically allows colossals or "non-character warjacks" it won't allow colossals. A tier that says "non-character heavy and light warjacks" won't allow colossals.

Valander
03-21-2014, 09:15 AM
Answers above cover the most "general" interactions. If you have a specific question regarding a specific theme list benefit, feel free to ask in a new thread.