PDA

View Full Version : unit formation



Mr-Furious
04-26-2014, 10:18 PM
If i have a unit of mcthralls and one is out of formationat the start of the unit's activation, but is in formation after the leader completes his movement, does that trooper still have to use his movement to head towards the unit leader?

Stormpuppy_Infantry
04-26-2014, 10:28 PM
No. The out of formation member when beginning of the unit's activation is required to command check individually with -2 to CMD, and if it is failed the model must either full advance toward or run direct toward to the unit commander and end its activation, before every other trooper moves. Though you can declare 0" move.

So your unit commander can't advance before the out of formation troopers are forced to advance.

Stormpuppy_Infantry
04-26-2014, 11:43 PM
Sorry. The post above have a error. Out of formation models does not roll for tge CMD check and it have to advance toward/run direct toward without any check.

Falkman
04-27-2014, 03:09 AM
Keep in mind however that if a model starts the activation out of formation it will not be able to attack later that activation even if brought into formation.

Straight Line
04-27-2014, 03:15 AM
Even if they are out of CMD during their activation, they will not be able to attack, right?

Falkman
04-27-2014, 03:30 AM
Even if they are out of CMD during their activation, they will not be able to attack, right?
If they start activation out of formation, or are out of formation at the time they want to attack, then they cannot attack. If they start in formation and are in formation when attacking they are fine, even if they momentarily left formation somewhere in-between.

Mr-Furious
04-27-2014, 05:33 AM
Ok, so to be clear.. the out of formation model goes first and tries to get into formation. Then everyone else goes?

yshsalas
04-27-2014, 05:41 AM
Prime 71 -
"At the beginning of a unit's activation (Step 2 in Activation Timing from Appendix A), determine if any troopers are out of formation. Those who are will not receive any order given to their unit(Step 4). A trooper that is out of formation at the start of its unit's activation must use its normal movement (Step 6) to make a full advance toward or run directly toward its unit commander. If it makes a full advance, it must forfeit its action."

The out of formation troopers activate right along with the rest of the unit, but their actions are dictated by the out of formation rules.

vintersbastard
04-27-2014, 07:26 AM
Ok, so to be clear.. the out of formation model goes first and tries to get into formation. Then everyone else goes?

No, you can still move in any order you want - that just doesn't remove the restriction yshsalas just quoted (moving the unit commander first may open up some new directions, though).

Mr-Furious
04-27-2014, 08:01 AM
Got it. Thanks