View Full Version : Theme forces and Mercenary and/or Minion models/units

05-09-2014, 09:26 PM
Infernal Ruling

"Any models that can be used legally within an army can be used within Theme Forces if they are allowed.

For example, Gastone Crosse can work within any Cygnar Theme Forces that allow Journeyman Warcasters. Unless Mercenary warjacks are allowed, he won't be able to take any warjacks.

If Khador has a Theme Force that allowed medium-based units, any Mercenary/Minion medium-based units that work for Khador could be taken."

Does this mean that for the following theme forces that mercenary or minion models/units can be added to the following?


eAsphyxious (Cephalyx Units, Cephalyx Solos)


eIrusk Heavy Battalion (Light Artillery units)


Four Star Syndicate (Mercenary models/units that work for Cryx or Khador - ie. Cephalyx)


Rasheth Siege Column (Light Artillery units)

05-09-2014, 10:09 PM
If the theme force doesn't restrict mercenary/minion model,(such as 'Cygnar non character warjack'), you are free to take any mercenary/minion that will work for your faction.

Most theme force can't take any mercenary/minions just because no mercenary/minion models are meet the requirement of that theme force, not because you can't hire mercenary/minion in theme force. Mercenary/minion models follows the theme force restriction just like as your own faction models. If they are not allowed then you can't take them. If they are not restricted, you can take them. At first there is no reqirement for in faction models in theme force.

For example, if a Cygnaran theme force only allows storm knight units, because currently there is no Storm Knight mercenary you can't take any mercenary units, not because mercenaries are not allowed in theme force.

Also remember that some non mercenary/minion theme force are intended to use some mercenary/minion models, such as Army of Light(Constance Blaze) and Chain Gang(Dominar Rasheth).

05-09-2014, 10:35 PM

eAsphyxious (Cephalyx Units, Cephalyx Solos)

The currently released Cephalyx units are Cryx Ally units, which makes them Cryx Faction in a Cryx list. The unreleased models are subject to change. :)


Four Star Syndicate (Mercenary models/units that work for Cryx or Khador - ie. Cephalyx)

All of the actually released Cephalyx models have this special rule:

Selective - This unit can be included only in Mercenary contract armies that list Cephalyx as possible members.
which places a restriction above and beyond the normal mechanics. So, no, Four Star Syndicate can't take Cephalyx Mind Slaver & Drudges, for example.

05-10-2014, 02:26 AM

eIrusk Heavy Battalion (Light Artillery units)Deck Guns should be allowed, yes. Incidentally, that should have been the case from the get-go.


Rasheth Siege Column (Light Artillery units)Dito for the Farrow Razorbacks.

05-10-2014, 04:03 AM
Mercenary theme forces and contracts are not compatible. A contract is unto itself a broader theme force.