PDA

View Full Version : Necrosurgery + new errata



feketelovag
05-12-2014, 12:17 PM
With the new errata does Necrosurgery work if there is a model out of formation? Or does the new errata not effect this special action and you can bring back grunts regardless if you have any other models out of formation?

Thrawnic
05-12-2014, 12:25 PM
From what i understand all spells and abilities that target a unit must now target a unit that is in formation. No more keeping one guy back to be the target for upkeep cycling and regrowth and all that. This would indeed apply to the necrosurgeon as her necrosurgery special action targets a unit.

Rynth
05-12-2014, 12:35 PM
From what i understand all spells and abilities that target a unit must now target a unit that is in formation. No more keeping one guy back to be the target for upkeep cycling and regrowth and all that. This would indeed apply to the necrosurgeon as her necrosurgery special action targets a unit.

According to Warroom the words "target" or "choose" appear no where in the Necrosurgery *Action, so it shouldn't be effected by the errata.

Sanctjud
05-12-2014, 01:06 PM
Answer is simple, Necrosurgury has does not target or choose a unit.
Fin.

feketelovag
05-12-2014, 10:19 PM
That's true that there is no wording that says "choose" or "target" in the special action though it does mention to add the grunts to a friendly Mechithrall "unit". So what if there are two units in the command range? You can only add the grunts to one, so don't you have to "choose" which one?

Kinda like with Thresher, where it doesn't actually say you "target" models event though you do seeing as Saeryn's feat prevents even Thresher attacks that got triggered on a non-battle group model.

Not trying to make an argument for the Necrosurgery to not work on out of formation Mechithrall units since that would be harsh with their CMD 6, but at the same time you kind of have to imply that you are targeting/choosing a Mechithrall unit to apply this action, which would fall under the new errata. So its still not quite crystal clear for me...

MaGoff
05-12-2014, 10:52 PM
Wording of the rules is everything in this game. Things are not implied or assumed. If an ability does not tell you to Target or Choose something, then you don't.

The "exception" to this is attacks. All attacks must Target something, unless stated otherwise in the rules of the specific attack (ie. Rain of Death etc.). A Thresher attack therefore Targets each model in the attacker's melee range and LoS.

Stormpuppy_Infantry
05-12-2014, 11:06 PM
That's true that there is no wording that says "choose" or "target" in the special action though it does mention to add the grunts to a friendly Mechithrall "unit".

That's why it is not affected by new errata.