PDA

View Full Version : BeatBack vs Earth's Blessing



SteelKosak
09-09-2014, 12:45 PM
Apologies if this has been resolved but my search-fu is a little weak

If a model with Beat back up, say a Bronzeback Titan, hits a woldwatcher under its animus, can the Bronzeback move its 1" even though it cannot push the woldwatcher.

Earths Blessing: Cannot be pushed, Knocked down or made Stationary vs
Train Wreck: Model Gains Beatback. After an attack is resolved the enemy model hit can be pushed 1". After the enemy model is pushed the attacking model can advance up to 1"

thanks

xenwall
09-09-2014, 01:13 PM
Yes. The advance is independent of the push.


You would still get your move. The "after the enemy model is pushed" is a sequencing rule, not a conditional rule. So even if the model is pushed zero because of something like immobile, that doesn't prevent your move; otherwise, it would say "if enemy model is pushed."

SteelKosak
09-10-2014, 05:07 AM
Thanks for the clarification

subversive
09-10-2014, 12:44 PM
Is that documented anywhere? "Cannot be pushed" is not the same as "cannot be moved by a push." If you never are pushed, something that happens "after" the push couldn't happen.

Phantasmagorium
09-10-2014, 12:54 PM
Is that documented anywhere? "Cannot be pushed" is not the same as "cannot be moved by a push." If you never are pushed, something that happens "after" the push couldn't happen.

Valander's statement, above, covers this already. "After the enemy model is pushed" is simply a sequencing phrase, meaning the movement is made after resolving the push (if any). If Beatback's movement relied on a successful push, it would say "if the enemy model is pushed". He specifically calls out Immobile, which says "cannot be moved", even more restrictive than a simple "cannot be pushed".

subversive
09-11-2014, 12:42 PM
Valander's statement, above, covers this already. "After the enemy model is pushed" is simply a sequencing phrase, meaning the movement is made after resolving the push (if any). If Beatback's movement relied on a successful push, it would say "if the enemy model is pushed". He specifically calls out Immobile, which says "cannot be moved", even more restrictive than a simple "cannot be pushed".

Ah, I missed that the quote was from Valander. So nevermind.