View Full Version : Kaelyssa force wall arcanist NQ 54 focus allocation question

01-06-2015, 12:07 PM
So this question came up during a match a couple days ago and we were perplexed on how it interacts.

The scenario: a myrmidon was knocked down. Kaelyssa allocates 3 focus to it and spends one to stand it up during the control phase. This leaves the jack with 2 on it. As the turn continues the arcanist nearby goes to allocate it another focus. Opponent says no because the jack had been allocated 3 focus already despite it only having 2 currently.

The basics: nq 54 arcanist can allocate focus to a jack so long as it has a focus on it.
Jacks can only be allocated 3 focus.
Jacks can be allocated focus by other means or gain focus through other means.

Can the jack be allocated the arcanist focus despite it having been allocated 3 focus during the control phase?

01-06-2015, 12:09 PM
Yes, it can. You can only have a maximum of 3 focus at a time due to allocation, but that doesn't prevent you from somehow spending some (like shaking) and then receiving more later from another source (Arcanists in Force Wall).

01-06-2015, 12:10 PM
Thank you very much for the prompt response

01-07-2015, 07:41 AM
Good job, Rean! Noted for next time.