PDA

View Full Version : bushwack cleansers UA special action and aiming



Naahz
03-02-2015, 09:42 PM
This thread (https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?33128-Bushwhack-aiming-bonus&highlight=bushwackers) has inconclusive feedback with people who have authority positions now but didn't back then. It was closed due to necro but searches yielded nothing else on topic.



The Bushwhack order reads:
"Bushwhack (Order) - During this unitʼs activation, affected models make their combat actions before their normal movement.
Affected models must make a full advance as their normal movement this activation.

1. Is the second sentence definitive "must" such that they can not sacrifice their movement to aim?

2. If one or more members of the unit are knocked down: Can they forfeit their movement to stand and do a combat action or must they forfeit action in order to do the full advance specified by "must" in the second line?

If situation #2 would allow you to choose to sacrifice movement as a result of KD then that would imply to me that you could just as easily sacrifice it to aim.

Akin to this order as it appears on the cleanser UA:
3. Can the UA officer give this order and then perform his star action (place a wall of fire) and then full advance afterwards per the order?

Thank you

solkan
03-02-2015, 10:15 PM
See: https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?196844-Bushwack-Forfeit-movement-clarification


Bushwhack states the model must use its normal movement to make a full advance. If a model uses Bushwhack, it cannot forfeit its movement.

The only thing Bushwhack does is let the model take its action before its movement.

Also the only way to get an Aiming Bonus is to forfeit movement.

Or, in other words: Bushwhack, the order, forces you to make a full advance. You can't forfeit movement if you are forced to use it.


If situation #2 would allow you to choose to sacrifice movement as a result of KD then that would imply to me that you could just as easily sacrifice it to aim.

That argument doesn't work because of timing.

Required forfeitures (such as forfeiting to stand up) can happen before the order is received. Aiming is an optional forfeiture, so it can't be performing before the order is received. This timing is defined in Appendix A, the activation chart.

So by the time the model wants to aim, it no longer has permission to forfeit to do so.

vintersbastard
03-03-2015, 02:17 AM
Akin to this order as it appears on the cleanser UA:
3. Can the UA officer give this order and then perform his star action (place a wall of fire) and then full advance afterwards per the order?
He cannot, because Bushwhack specifically requires a combat action.

Naahz
03-03-2015, 04:56 AM
thank you :)