View Full Version : steelsoul protector Defensive strike question

03-03-2015, 06:31 AM
If i have a steelsoul protector and the enemy model is already in melee with it and does not move can i still make a defensive strike as it did end its movement in melee with the steelsoul protector.

03-03-2015, 06:51 AM
Yes you may. There is no clause that states he had to begin out of melee range.

Edit: Wow is this wrong...I really should have read the wording first.

03-03-2015, 06:55 AM
Defensive strike reads:

Once per turn, when an enemy model advances into and ends its movement in this model's melee range, this model can immediately make one normal melee attack against it

If a model is in your melee range, it cannot advance into it (Unless it advances away, and then advances into it again, but then you'd also gain a free strike). As a result you do not get to attack a target that is already in your melee range.

03-03-2015, 09:24 AM
thank you for the quick responce

03-03-2015, 12:43 PM
Larnu is correct. Previous ruling for backup and reference: https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?10866-Defensive-strike-and-models-already-engaging&highlight=defensive+strike+engaged