PDA

View Full Version : Can you Sacrificial Pawn Black Oil



Golgamoth
03-12-2015, 09:23 PM
Hi! This came up today:

If Exulon Thexus and a Agitator are next to one another, and Gorman attacks (and hit) Thexus with Black Oil, can Exulon Thexus sacrificial pawn the blind effect to a nearby Monstrosity?

If yes, can then the Agitator also sacrificial pawn the black oil as well? The wording of black oil appears to supercede standard AoE attacks, since it reads: "This attack suffers no damage, INSTEAD all models under the template are hit". Is this "hit" a direct hit, and as such, can the Agitator sac pawn it?

Two questions in one, hopefully that's ok.

Cory
03-12-2015, 09:32 PM
Sac pawn is on a directly hit model the damage and effects are pawned, but only on direct hit so you can pawn the thexus hit not others in the aoe

SageofLodoss
03-12-2015, 09:34 PM
Black Oil is a ranged attack, and thus can have its direct hit target changed by Sacrificial Pawn.

The "Instead" language doesn't matter because of the timing issues. Black Oil's language won't take effect until after you've completed the step of determining if Black Oil directly hit or not (you do, after all, make a standard attack roll). If it did directly hit, Sacrificial Pawn can then be used to move the direct hit. Once the new target is established, then you move on to the steps of resolving the attack hitting.

nevek
03-13-2015, 04:47 AM
only if hes directly hit though...on just a hit (from the aoe) he doesn't get to sac pawn it

anth70
03-15-2015, 07:14 AM
I thought there was something unique to black oi, wording that still meant the aoe and hence black oil effect still stood.

The Captain
03-15-2015, 07:40 AM
I thought there was something unique to black oi, wording that still meant the aoe and hence black oil effect still stood.

There is not. Black oil says that models under the AOE are hit, which doesn't override anything because that's how AOEs normally work. It doesn't negate the fact that the original target of the attack is still directly hit (if the attack roll was successful), with all implications of being directly hit by a ranged attack, such as being able to redirect the hit with rules such as Sucker, Sacrificial Pawn and Shield Guard.

The original target is still within the AOE, so some people have thought this to mean that they're still hit and suffer the effect, but this is false. Just as a direct hit from a damaging AOE doesn't turn into blast damage against the original target if the hit is shield guarded or sac pawned, the target model of Black Oil is not hit at all because someone else was hit instead.

anth70
06-02-2015, 04:15 PM
So as an example if pmorv is surrounged by buddies and sac pawns black oil to a stone three inches away.
- the aoe doest move so all of morvs close buddies are blind
- the stone sac pawned to is blind
- pmorv is not?

Grey Templar
06-02-2015, 04:31 PM
So as an example if pmorv is surrounged by buddies and sac pawns black oil to a stone three inches away.
- the aoe doest move so all of morvs close buddies are blind
- the stone sac pawned to is blind
- pmorv is not?

That is correct.