PDA

View Full Version : Upkeep spell on unit not on the board.



Prawndor
03-19-2015, 11:39 AM
This is regarding Vladimir Tzepesci The Dark Champion ( Vlad2 ) the theme force Blood of Heroes at Tier 3 and the Kossite Woodsmen with Ambush.


My question is, can the Kossite Woodsmen benefit from the spell Hand of Fate, and can it be upkept, even if they are not on the table? I noticed in the rules on upkeeps it talks about RETURNED TO PLAY models losing the benefits of an upkeep spell, however, Kossites aren't returning to play. They have not yet been deployed but are in play but not on the board, unlike removed from play models that are neither on the board or in play. ( I assume, correct me if I'm wrong )

Tier3: Friendly models/units can begin the game affected by Vladimir's upkeep spells. These spells and their targets must be declared before either player sets up models.Vladimir does not pay focus to upkeep these spells during your first turn.

Ambush: You can choose not to deploy this unit at the start of the game. If it is not deployed normally, you can put it into play at the end of any of your Control Phases after your first turn. When you do, choose any table edge except the back of your opponent's deployment zone. Place this unit in formation within 3" of the chosen table edge.



Primarily looking for an Infernal to weigh on this potentially contentious matter, but appreciate discussion overall. :)

Stormpuppy_Infantry
03-19-2015, 11:47 AM
https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?123106-Theme-forces-and-Ambush&highlight=Vladimir+upkeep

https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?49644-Evlad-Tier-List-Upkeeps-on-Ambushing-Kossites&highlight=upkeep+ambush

No, it is not possible to give an upkeep spell on unit not on the board.

Prawndor
03-19-2015, 12:05 PM
Thanks! ( 10 chars )