PDA

View Full Version : blood seer and rune breaker from mulg



oncouch1
03-24-2015, 09:56 PM
So the blood seers primal magic says you can cast an animi as if it were their own, and mulg's animus says war beasts lose their animi while in his command range.

Can the blood seer cast an animi of a war beast outside of mulgs command range while inside his command range?

Korvald
03-24-2015, 10:09 PM
I'm pretty sure the bit where it says "as if the animi were it's own" means it effectively gains an extra animi temporarily. But then immediately loses it because of mulg.

I could be wrong though, I can also see it being ruled that it casts the animi of another beast like the succubus does with spirit tap, so it never has the animi, it just uses it.

Leonard_Dukes
03-24-2015, 10:18 PM
A model with Primal Magic can use the animus of a friendly Faction warbeast in its CMD range as if it were its own, but that animus isn't actually the animus of that model.

This is supported by this ruling on Primal Magic and Awakened Spirit. (https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?166581-Primal-Magic-(Cyclops-Shaman)-and-Awakened-Spirit-(Zaal)&p=2124312&viewfull=1#post2124312) Awakened Spirit allows a warbeast to use its animus without being forced, but does not allow a warbeast to use Primal Magic to use another warbeast's animus without being forced.

Likewise, Sunder Spirit (which causes an affected model to lose its animus), doesn't cause the model with Primal Magic to lose its ability (https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?161286-Sunder-Spirit-vs-Primal-Magic) to use another warbeast's animus.

Based on these interpretations, I would say that Runebreaker causes the affected model to lose its own animus, but not the ability to use a friendly Faction warbeast's animus via Primal Magic.

oncouch1
03-24-2015, 10:39 PM
thank you for being so thorough with your answer.