PDA

View Full Version : Stormwal, Rapid Fire and Covering Fire



Sand20go
03-27-2015, 09:22 AM
See this thread on the Khador board
https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?225425-Stromwall-is-just-a-LITTLE-less-scary-make-your-opponent-play-right

OK. We got positing from judges and infernals:

https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?97767-Rapid-Fire-and-Blitzer&p=1310680&viewfull=1#post1310680
https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?167375-Models-with-multiple-rapid-fire-weapons

that indicate that when the Stormwall starts its combat action the first thing, if the Stormwall is going to use its range weapons, is to declare between Rapid Fire and Covering Fire and, should the player choose Rapid Fire, roll the d3 for each of the Metal Storms that is choosing Rapid Fire. After doing this, proceed.


But what happens if your opponent screws up and goes ahead and shoots the Big gun?

Options:

A) Rewind. We are now in an incorrect/illegal game state. Get the RF/CF choice and D3 rolled and then proceed
B) Rapid Fire is default. Though incorrect (not at the "beginning") do not rewind but as soon as possible roll the d3 for rapid shots.

We have a judge indicating default

(Omnus "For the purpose of convention level events, if you do not declare covering fire or rapid fire, the default is rapid fire.
It is the responsibility of both players to maintain a proper game state. This is no exception. Both players would likely recieve a warning.")

but this seems open to abuse and isn't precisely a good reading (indeed, since covering fire is listed first one might argue that _IT_ is the default).

What is it? Rewind or Rapid Fire as default and don't make the mistake again?

SageofLodoss
03-27-2015, 09:52 AM
See this thread on the Khador board
https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?225425-Stromwall-is-just-a-LITTLE-less-scary-make-your-opponent-play-right

OK. We got positing from judges and infernals:

https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?97767-Rapid-Fire-and-Blitzer&p=1310680&viewfull=1#post1310680
https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?167375-Models-with-multiple-rapid-fire-weapons

that indicate that when the Stormwall starts its combat action the first thing, if the Stormwall is going to use its range weapons, is to declare between Rapid Fire and Covering Fire and, should the player choose Rapid Fire, roll the d3 for each of the Metal Storms that is choosing Rapid Fire. After doing this, proceed.


But what happens if your opponent screws up and goes ahead and shoots the Big gun?

Options:

A) Rewind. We are now in an incorrect/illegal game state. Get the RF/CF choice and D3 rolled and then proceed
B) Rapid Fire is default. Though incorrect (not at the "beginning") do not rewind but as soon as possible roll the d3 for rapid shots.

We have a judge indicating default

(Omnus "For the purpose of convention level events, if you do not declare covering fire or rapid fire, the default is rapid fire.
It is the responsibility of both players to maintain a proper game state. This is no exception. Both players would likely recieve a warning.")

but this seems open to abuse and isn't precisely a good reading (indeed, since covering fire is listed first one might argue that _IT_ is the default).

What is it? Rewind or Rapid Fire as default and don't make the mistake again?

It's a mistake, and the rules don't tell you what to do when you don't play by the rules.

So the only thing we have to go by is how the judges say it will be handled at official events. Omnus' quoted statement seems to be the official way to handle it at a big tournament. Is there a specific reason you want to bring up the judge decision? Because an infernal is unlikely to overrule a judge regarding how "not playing by the rules" mistakes are handled at steamrollers.

Sand20go
03-27-2015, 09:54 AM
It's a mistake, and the rules don't tell you what to do when you don't play by the rules.

So the only thing we have to go by is how the judges say it will be handled at official events. Omnus' quoted statement seems to be the official way to handle it at a big tournament. Is there a specific reason you want to bring up the judge decision? Because an infernal is unlikely to overrule a judge regarding how "not playing by the rules" mistakes are handled at steamrollers.

Just looking that Omnus's statement should be considered the word from the Gospel as opposed to rewinding. Also I would like to understand (though perhaps it is good enough) that it is from on high why the second ability on Metal Storm is considered the default.

DarkLegacy
03-27-2015, 10:09 AM
Just looking that Omnus's statement should be considered the word from the Gospel as opposed to rewinding. Also I would like to understand (though perhaps it is good enough) that it is from on high why the second ability on Metal Storm is considered the default.
The second ability isn't secondary, the first one is an "instead of" ability. Rapid Fire is the default because you make Covering Fire (secondary firing mode) instead of Rapid Fire (main fire mode).

Sand20go
03-27-2015, 10:17 AM
The second ability isn't secondary, the first one is an "instead of" ability. Rapid Fire is the default because you make Covering Fire (secondary firing mode) instead of Rapid Fire (main fire mode).

Got it. That (the use of the world "instead of") makes sense.