PDA

View Full Version : Targeting a model in melee with a spell



Stubbyholders
04-01-2015, 08:18 PM
I know that a model with spell casting ability can cast a spell at a model it is in melee with or target a model outside of melee.

My question is, does the spell casting model get -4 to the attack, if it is targeting a model in its own melee range, if the model is also in melee with a 3rd model?


Example. Model A and B and engaged, model C is a runeshaper and advances into melee with A. If he uses a rock hammer, does the magic attack roll suffer the in melee penalty because model A (enemy) is engaged with model B (friendly model to C)

Leonard_Dukes
04-01-2015, 08:48 PM
My question is, does the spell casting model get -4 to the attack, if it is targeting a model in its own melee range, if the model is also in melee with a 3rd model?


No. Reference:


A magic attack roll does not suffer the target in melee attack roll penalty when the attacker is in melee with the target. If such an attack misses and there are multiple models in the combat, however, the attack can still hit another random model in the combat, excluding the attacker and the original target. Resolve these situations following the rules in "Targeting a Model in Melee" on p. 58 and "Spell and Animus Targeting" below. An AOE spell that misses in this situation will deviate normally.

Note that if the attack misses and you reroll against another model that the attacker is not in melee with, the new attack roll will suffer the "target in melee" penalty if that model is in melee with some other model (which it should be, since that's what makes it an eligible target for the reroll in the first place).

Note also that a friendly models are never in melee with one another, as a model can only engage or be engaged by an enemy model. Making a magic attack against a friendly model that is in your melee range while that model is also in melee with an enemy model will incur the "target in melee" penalty, as the attacker and its friendly target are not in melee with one another.

DivideBy0
04-01-2015, 08:52 PM
If you're targetting a model that you are engaged with, you do not get the penalty, regardless of how many other models are there.

DarkLegacy
04-01-2015, 09:02 PM
If you're targetting a model that you are engaged with, you do not get the penalty, regardless of how many other models are there.
Engaging or engaged by, not just "engaged with". In Melee is either.

Leonard_Dukes
04-01-2015, 09:09 PM
Engaging or engaged by, not just "engaged with". In Melee is either.

"In melee" is one, the other, or both. :P