PDA

View Full Version : Afflictor "Infection" and Caber Thrower "Take Up"



Lanfear
04-29-2015, 11:15 PM
Hello :)

Situation: Afflictor kills a Caber Thrower while other Kriel Warrior Models are within 1'' of the Caber Thrower.

a) Afflictor attacks and damages a Caber Thrower
b) Caber Thrower gets disabled, and misses the tough roll
c) Afflictor Infection gets triggert by the active player and the Player removes the Caber Thrower from the game, replacing the model with an Incubus model.
d) Trollbloods Player wants to trigger the "Take Up" ability, but cannot place the model as that space is occupied by the Icubus model.

Is that correct?

Leonard_Dukes
04-29-2015, 11:54 PM
Take Up replaces a grunt within 1" of the destroyed/removed model with that destroyed/removed model. The spot where the destroyed/removed model was standing doesn't come into play at all.

vintersbastard
04-30-2015, 01:29 AM
Take Up replaces a grunt within 1" of the destroyed/removed model with that destroyed/removed model. The spot where the destroyed/removed model was standing doesn't come into play at all.You might want to take another look at Take Up - the model with the rule stays on the table, and the grunt is removed instead.


c) Afflictor Infection gets triggert by the active player and the Player removes the Caber Thrower from the game, replacing the model with an Incubus model.
d) Trollbloods Player wants to trigger the "Take Up" ability, but cannot place the model as that space is occupied by the Icubus model.
This one is something of a conundrum - as far as I can tell, Take Up triggers as soon as the Legion player decides to RFP the Caber Thrower; Take Up then causes the grunt to be removed instead, which should allow the Legion player to replace said grunt with an Incubus.

DarkLegacy
04-30-2015, 05:44 AM
Checking...

DarkLegacy
06-30-2015, 10:36 AM
If a model (A) with Take Up is attacked and Infection is used on it, before replacing the model with the Incubi, you check which grunts are available to be the Take Up selection. If there is a valid model within range (B), the model originally attacked (A) (the Caber Thrower, Piper, etc with Take Up) will be removed and replaced with the Incubi, then the valid model (B) will be replaced with the model with Take Up (A).

SageofLodoss
06-30-2015, 03:11 PM
If a model (A) with Take Up is attacked and Infection is used on it, before replacing the model with the Incubi, you check which grunts are available to be the Take Up selection. If there is a valid model within range (B), the model originally attacked (A) (the Caber Thrower, Piper, etc with Take Up) will be removed and replaced with the Incubi, then the valid model (B) will be replaced with the model with Take Up (A).

Interesting. So this is specific to Infection and similar abilities like it being involved, but if they were not then it would get resolved the other way around right (Model B would be removed and Model A would remain)?

So if a Blackbane Ghost Raider boxed and removed the caber from play, then triggered reanimation, would the Troll player's instruction be dictated by whether or not the Cryx player chose to put the new ghost raider in the area that the caber occupied?

DarkLegacy
06-30-2015, 06:59 PM
Reanimation adds the grunt before the model is removed from play, preventing the situation you outlined from happening.

This clarification is very narrowly focused on Take Up and Infection.

Doktor Grym
07-01-2015, 12:16 AM
Would that apply to other RFP take-up model replacement situations where model (A) might be turned into an enemy model even if it was not replaced by an actual opponents model/figure and even if only to the end of the current players turn? Such as Bone Shaker or Jaga-Jaga's feat? And if said model moved from it's original position to another location, would you then choose a friendly grunt within 1" of the new location? This seems to be slightly similar.

KSW

DarkLegacy
07-01-2015, 12:57 PM
Would that apply to other RFP take-up model replacement situations where model (A) might be turned into an enemy model even if it was not replaced by an actual opponents model/figure and even if only to the end of the current players turn? Such as Bone Shaker or Jaga-Jaga's feat? And if said model moved from it's original position to another location, would you then choose a friendly grunt within 1" of the new location? This seems to be slightly similar.

KSW
It doesn't interact with them. Those spells/feats take control of the model, and control isn't given back until after the model is RPF'd, giving no opportunity to Take Up.

Doktor Grym
07-01-2015, 09:20 PM
Thanks, I got it. I didn't think the option to Take Up would happen due to that, but wanted to be sure.

KSW