PDA

View Full Version : Saeryn and Rhyas casting order question



BananazGorilla
06-07-2015, 08:40 PM
I'm wondering if when one of Saeryn or Rhyas starts moving or taking their combat action, can the other interrupt to cast spells?
For instance: Saeryn moves, Rhyas moves, Saeryn casts a spell, Rhyas casts, Saeryn casts again.
Or: Both models charge, Saeryn attacks, Rhyas attacks, Saeryn casts a spell, Rhyas buys more attacks.

I'm guessing that at least the first case works because you can cast at any time during your activation, and each model in the unit is said to be activating at the same time.
For one model casting spells between the others attacks it's a little harder to tell because one model has to finish its action before the next can take its action, but it seems like you would still be able to cast in between because it's not an action.

If this is allowed it would mean Saeryn could attack a model to remove whatever defensive upkeep is on it, then cast Marked for Death, then Rhyas uses all her attacks, then Saeryn finishes them off (Saeryn is attacking after because the Dispel on her weapon will remove her own upkeep spell.)

Leonard_Dukes
06-07-2015, 08:50 PM
A warlock in a warlock unit can cast spells at any time during its unit's activation, as long as it is not interrupting a movement or attack.

Obviously, all of this is subject to any additional restrictions, like not running, still being in formation, etc.

Stormpuppy_Infantry
06-07-2015, 08:51 PM
I'm wondering if when one of Saeryn or Rhyas starts moving or taking their combat action, can the other interrupt to cast spells?
For instance: Saeryn moves, Rhyas moves, Saeryn casts a spell, Rhyas casts, Saeryn casts again.
Or: Both models charge, Saeryn attacks, Rhyas attacks, Saeryn casts a spell, Rhyas buys more attacks.

I'm guessing that at least the first case works because you can cast at any time during your activation, and each model in the unit is said to be activating at the same time.
For one model casting spells between the others attacks it's a little harder to tell because one model has to finish its action before the next can take its action, but it seems like you would still be able to cast in between because it's not an action.

If this is allowed it would mean Saeryn could attack a model to remove whatever defensive upkeep is on it, then cast Marked for Death, then Rhyas uses all her attacks, then Saeryn finishes them off (Saeryn is attacking after because the Dispel on her weapon will remove her own upkeep spell.)

You cannot cast a spell during the attack and movement, but it is free to cast a spell between an attack or before/after the movement of each model provided that it is during the spellcaster's activation. A Warlock Unit is still a unit; they are activates at the same time(though failed charge, run, or some odd situation makes some of them ends their activation faster than the rest of them).

So, each time one of the twins are ends her movement, or finishing the attacks, each twins can freely cast any number of spells before making the next movement or attack, provided they can pay for the COST of spell.

Though they are not released yet so you can't get the official answer for Saeryn&Rhyas epic warlock unit, but you may found some refrence about the warcaster unit or warlock unit. The warcaster of the Warcaster Unit or the warlock of the Warlock Unit can cast their spells at the any time after the trooper's movement or attack. Even if the unit have two spellcasters, I think that it have no diffrence.

AcidOverride
06-08-2015, 08:34 AM
Remember that as a rule they can buy additional attacks during their combat action. Each member of a unit completes it's combat action before moving on the the next member. Your last example doesn't work because it has Saeryn attacking (finishing her combat action), then Rhyas attacking (finishing her combat action), and going back to Saeryn. Unless of course you meant Saeryn finishing off the model with a spell.

Wolfhard
06-08-2015, 10:52 AM
what about flashing blade on rhyas? wouldn't that allow her to attack during saeryns combat action?

Leonard_Dukes
06-08-2015, 10:56 AM
what about flashing blade on rhyas? wouldn't that allow her to attack during saeryns combat action?

Yes, but at that point she is not making "additional attacks", she is instead casting a spell that happens to generate attacks. A subtle, but important, difference.

BananazGorilla
06-08-2015, 10:56 AM
Flashing Blade should work, yeah. And since it's still during her activation Rhyas can still boost it, I think.

Mod_Neldar
06-08-2015, 10:57 AM
what about flashing blade on rhyas? wouldn't that allow her to attack during saeryns combat action?

Yup. That works.

AcidOverride
06-08-2015, 01:37 PM
Correct. That would happen before her initial attack even. And yes, she can still boost to hit and damage.