PDA

View Full Version : Devastator rain of death initial attacks



Matter11
06-09-2015, 12:03 PM
I know a star attack normally replaces your initial attack(s).

In the text for rain of death at the end it says "after a rain of death attack, this model can make additional melee attacks."

So after advancing/charging and using rain of death, can I make my initial melee attacks for free?

Or does this simply mean I am allowed to buy more attacks at 1 focus apiece?

Leonard_Dukes
06-09-2015, 12:05 PM
Or does this simply mean I am allowed to buy more attacks at 1 focus apiece?

This one.

"Additional attacks" are attacks made after the initial attacks are all made (or forfeited for whatever reason), and typically must be "bought" by spending focus/fury or forcing the model in question.

The Captain
06-09-2015, 12:26 PM
Additional attacks are not initial attacks. The reason Devastator has that clause is that normally, you're allowed to make only one type of attacks (melee or ranged) during a model's combat action, but the Rain of Death is neither, so the rule tells you what type of attacks you're allowed to buy afterwards. Otherwise you wouldn't be able to buy any kind of attacks after Rain of Death.