PDA

View Full Version : Disspelling rockwall



Thamarite Merc
08-07-2015, 01:17 AM
I am currently thinking about the interaction between the spell repudiate (Haley3) and rock wall (Gorten, Baldur, Gunnbjorn, Lanissa Stonetide). Rock wall is an upkeep spell, but can it even be targeted by repudiate? It's not an upkeep on the caster, else Gorten couldn't have it up as the same time as Solid Ground. It is not a model either, but a piece of landscape, an obstacle, which doesn't even have a DEF stat.
Can it be disspelled at all?
Could Eyriss/Thrullg do it?

Or, while we are at it, even one of the Purification casters? At least they don't have to target the wall specifically, but where exactly is the upkeep spell located, that would need to be dispelled?

Celeb
08-07-2015, 01:21 AM
If the wall is in the control zone of a warcaster or walock casting purification, it goes away.Eiryss/Thrullg/Hexblast/Repudiate and Dispel will not work on the Rock wall due to it not being on a model.

Crate123
08-07-2015, 01:28 AM
Do note there is nothing you can do to get rid of Janissa's stonewall as it is not an upkeep spell.

Larnu
08-07-2015, 01:32 AM
The upkeep spell is located on the actual wall. So the only way that a upkeep that creates a wall (or other terrain feature, such as Buldur's Rapid Growth, which creates a 4'' Forest) can be dispelled is via purification. Any part of the terrain feature created would then need to be within the Control area of the model casting purification. Removing upkeeps from the model that cast the spell will have no effect, as although they are upkeeping the spell, it is not on them, it is on the terrain piece itself.

The same applies for terrain created by a Warbeast Animus, such as Wild Growth from a Woldwarden. Although the animus was cast by the Warbeast, affecting the model with purification, or dispel, would have no effect on created terrain. The terrain is what needs to be targeted (which you can't do) or within the spell.

The Buoyancy of Water
08-07-2015, 02:27 AM
Isn't Rockwall Upkeep: Self?

Mod_Neldar
08-07-2015, 03:06 AM
Isn't Rockwall Upkeep: Self?

It is not.

The Buoyancy of Water
08-07-2015, 04:00 AM
It is not.
Oh, never mind then, carry on :)

kaneblaise
08-07-2015, 10:04 AM
The same applies for terrain created by a Warbeast Animus, such as Wild Growth from a Woldwarden. Although the animus was cast by the Warbeast, affecting the model with purification, or dispel, would have no effect on created terrain. The terrain is what needs to be targeted (which you can't do) or within the spell.

Unless something has changed, this is incorrect. Your first paragraph was ruled to be correct, but the woldwarden's animus is an animus that stays on the caster. I had previously suggested Grayle using the woldwarden's animus, side stepping, using it again, and then sprinting behind it. That discussion resulted in a thread that I don't have time right now to hunt down where an infernal ruled that the second forest would erase the first, that a woldwarden casting it's animus would erase lightning strike if it had that on it before, and that hitting the warden with an animus dispelling effect would remove the forest.

Tl:dr fact check that second paragraph

SageofLodoss
08-07-2015, 10:11 AM
Woldwarden's Animus is not like Rock Wall. The animus is still on the Warden itself, even though he can separate from the location of the forest template. Dispelling the animus or replacing it with a new animus will make the template go away. It is a peculiar case of the animus existing in two places at once kind of: the model that it is on, and the area of the table where it's effect lies, but they remain connected because the range of the animus is still self.