PDA

View Full Version : Purposedly "failing" charge



Sand20go
08-09-2015, 04:57 PM
I can't find anything that clarifies this in the rule book on charges but may not be thinking about it

Can a model declare a charge target which they see (so they satisfy the LOS) issue but then declare a charge lane (turn to face) in such a way as to purposely bump into another model and thus fail the charge (and have their activation immediately end) _IF_ there is an alternative legal facing which actually would allow them to charge?

Grey Templar
08-09-2015, 04:58 PM
Yes. The only requirement is that you take a lane which would eventually get you into melee range, irrespective of obstacles or distance.

Leonard_Dukes
08-09-2015, 05:15 PM
With the exception of a frenzying warbeast, you can purposefully choose a charge direction that will fail (as long as it is otherwise "legal").

rydiafan
08-09-2015, 06:42 PM
With the exception of a frenzying warbeast, you can purposefully choose a charge direction that will fail (as long as it is otherwise "legal").

Even with frenzying warbeasts you can do this. Any time you charge, whether forced or not, intervening models or terrain are irrelevant to path choice (apart from LOS purposes, of course).

Leonard_Dukes
08-09-2015, 06:54 PM
With the exception of a frenzying warbeast, you can purposefully choose a charge direction that will fail (as long as it is otherwise "legal").

Even with frenzying warbeasts you can do this. Any time you charge, whether forced or not, intervening models or terrain are irrelevant to path choice (apart from LOS purposes, of course).

What's the meaning behind this entry in the errata (http://privateerpress.com/files/WM%20MKII%20Rules%20Errata%20Feb%202015.pdf)?


Replace the last paragraph with the following: A player cannot intentionally choose a path for a frenzying model's charge that would cause the charge to fail.

rydiafan
08-09-2015, 07:05 PM
That is me embarassingly forgetting that errata existed, and answering a question purely based on the written books.

Let this be a lesson to you, kids. Don't get overconfident.

The Captain
08-10-2015, 04:59 AM
That is me embarassingly forgetting that errata existed, and answering a question purely based on the written books.

Let this be a lesson to you, kids. Don't get overconfident.
How does this interact with your signature, o Judge? Or is there no interaction, since your initial error has already been fixed?