PDA

View Full Version : Units with Magic Ability, Charge and Destroyed target



Sletchman
09-04-2015, 02:05 AM
If I have a model that makes a successful charge, but it's target is destroyed before it makes it's attack, can it then use a Magic Ability Special Attack (which normally could not be used as a charge attack) against another target, or must it make a melee attack?

Example: 3 Runeshapers charge a single warrior model, with all making successful charges. Runeshaper A kills the warrior model. Can Runeshapers B and C make a Rockhammer Magic Attack against a different target if it doesn't have any enemy models in it's reach? Can it make a Rockhammer attack if it does have other enemy models in it's reach?

EDIT: This question isn't Runeshaper specific - I was asked the same question in relation to the Greylord escort of a unit of Doomreavers and didn't know the answer, but am also curious for my Runeshapers.

Mod_Neldar
09-04-2015, 02:19 AM
Nope. Charging generally prevents using magic ability since charging requires you to make melee attacks.

In your example, runeshapers B and C can't do anything.

Some magic ability spells say they can be used during a charge. These are exceptions.

Sletchman
09-04-2015, 02:27 AM
Cool. That's what I thought, but my opponent (player with the Greylord Escort) thought they might be able to redirect and I wasn't certain. Good to know.

ScottMcd
09-04-2015, 03:02 PM
Nope. Charging generally prevents using magic ability since charging requires you to make melee attacks.

In your example, runeshapers B and C can't do anything.

They could Tremor, but only because it specifies they can tremor on a charge.