PDA

View Full Version : Mountain King Counter Charge



nmello278
09-04-2015, 06:59 PM
Weird situation, but curious if it works. With the mountain king getting assault I had an idea. With borka2, if a model ended its movement within 6 of the MTK, could he then make an assault spray using battle charge from borka2?

I know he cannot move, therefore he could never make a successful counter charge with a melee attack, but could he spray using the assault rule to its advantage?

HellecticMojo
09-04-2015, 07:33 PM
Assault requires a charge. If you can't charge, then you can't assault.

Grey Templar
09-04-2015, 08:17 PM
Specifically you must charge 3" to get the assault shot.

Stormpuppy_Infantry
09-04-2015, 08:33 PM
Specifically you must charge 3" to get the assault shot.

No. Assault does not requires to advance at least 3" during charge in order to get the Assault ranged attack. As long as it is not in melee with the charge target at the beginning of the activation and it made charge, it can make a ranged attack after made 0" charge. Though its following melee attack is not a charge attack.

Lanz
09-04-2015, 10:44 PM
I would think that it can make assaults with counter-charge. The gargantuan rules prevent ADVANCING, but they don't stop all movement. So you wouldn't be able to move, but, as far as I can tell, you can still 'charge' and thus trigger assault.

Stormpuppy_Infantry
09-05-2015, 12:10 AM
I would think that it can make assaults with counter-charge. The gargantuan rules prevent ADVANCING, but they don't stop all movement. So you wouldn't be able to move, but, as far as I can tell, you can still 'charge' and thus trigger assault.

https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?184129-Question-about-Axis-of-Cyris

Because it cannot make the charge in the first place, so I think that it will not able to make the ranged attack granted by Assault. Assault gives a ranged attack as the part of the charge so it must perform charge to get that.

Lanz
09-05-2015, 12:21 AM
https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?184129-Question-about-Axis-of-Cyris

Because it cannot make the charge in the first place, so I think that it will not able to make the ranged attack granted by Assault. Assault gives a ranged attack as the part of the charge so it must perform charge to get that.

It's a closed thread, so I guess that link must have the correct answer. So can't advance = no charge.

solkan
09-05-2015, 12:52 PM
The decision's been upheld each time I could find that it's come up. Here's one of the iterations: https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?208629-Counter-charge-and-colossals

Grey Templar
09-05-2015, 01:16 PM
Another issue is that when you charge something you face directly towards it, which involves changing facing, which is movement. And as its outside of its movement the colossal/gargantuan cannot do that.

DarkLegacy
09-05-2015, 08:12 PM
A Colossal/Gargantuan cannot Counter Charge, thus, cannot Assault on a Counter Charge.