PDA

View Full Version : ADR point exchanges



General Cross
09-08-2015, 02:34 AM
Regarding ADR, can I take out more points from my army than I put in? So for example if I remove a 5 point model for a two 2 point models I will be playing down a point. This is legal (I think) as the list would not be more than two points below its required total points cost and I can't see anything in the Masters document that says otherwise.

Larnu
09-08-2015, 03:25 AM
This is fine. The requirements (in simple terms) are that you swap a model(s)/unit(s) for another model(s)/unit(s), and that the new army list must of legal and within the tier you selected. If you wish to therefore be a point down or swap a single card choice for multiple, that's fine, as long as your list would still be legal.

General Cross
09-08-2015, 06:40 AM
Ok thank you for the clarification. What about removing more than 20 points for the same reason? IE could I remove 21 points from my main list to add 20 in from the sideboard?

Leo_the_Rat
09-08-2015, 06:59 AM
The rules allow for swapping 20 points. 21>20 so no, you can't take 21 points out of your list.

AcidOverride
09-08-2015, 07:40 AM
The rules state nothing about swapping 20 points. The rules state you have 20 points of specialists you can swap in on a card for card basis. The rules state the final list must be legal. Swapping out 21 points to put in the whole Vanguard list leaves you with a 49 point list, which is legal under the Masters rules.

Leo_the_Rat
09-08-2015, 07:53 AM
You are correct. I always assumed that it was a 20 point swap but it isn't.

As far as the 21 points that fine since the rule says that you are required to have a legal list to play before starting the game. So if you want to remove 21 or 22 points from your original list as long as the total points make a legal list you are fine.

General Cross
09-08-2015, 07:56 AM
Ok cool, thanks very much guys. Its a convoluted case involving warbeast points but its good to know the option is there!

kamilion
09-14-2015, 04:59 AM
The rules state nothing about swapping 20 points. The rules state you have 20 points of specialists you can swap in on a card for card basis. The rules state the final list must be legal. Swapping out 21 points to put in the whole Vanguard list leaves you with a 49 point list, which is legal under the Masters rules.

Can we get a thread lock if this is correct? This makes some interesting options open up in my meta if this is accurate (which it looks to be based on my reading).

rydiafan
09-14-2015, 05:38 AM
The rules state nothing about swapping 20 points. The rules state you have 20 points of specialists you can swap in on a card for card basis. The rules state the final list must be legal. Swapping out 21 points to put in the whole Vanguard list leaves you with a 49 point list, which is legal under the Masters rules.

This is correct.