PDA

View Full Version : How does the Restoration Ability on the KES actually work.



W0lfBane
09-15-2015, 04:11 PM
My question mostly revolves around the question of what happens when a model is perpetually disabled.
Like if you are disabled can people target you with attacks. Do you take damage rolls, and if you do and they break armor do you become disabled again? Is there anything else that being disabled does that i'm not thinking of.

Fathoym
09-15-2015, 05:22 PM
What is the KES?

Leonard_Dukes
09-15-2015, 05:30 PM
For the benefit of future forum searches, and those of us who do not have an encyclopedic knowledge of every possible game acronym, KES apparently stands for Knight Exemplar Seneschal. (Protip: if you're going to use an acronym, abbreviation or nickname, include the real name at least once in your post).

Also for reference, the text of Restoration is as follows:


Restoration - When a living friendly Faction model in this model's command range is destroyed by an enemy attack, after the attack is resolved this model heals 1 damage point. When this model is disabled, it is knocked down instead of becoming boxed and its activation immediately ends. While this model is disabled, it cannot activate. If this model is disabled at the beginning of your Maintenance Phase, it is destroyed.

The question at hand seems to be "What happens if the Knight Exemplar Seneschal is affected by Restoration, and then suffers more damage? Does it become boxed? Does it become destroyed?"


The simple answer is taken right from the rule book:


Hordes: Primal MkII, Disabled and Destroyed
A model is disabled when all of its damage boxes are marked or when it suffers 1 damage point if it does not have damage boxes. [...] A model cannot suffer more damage than it has damage boxes.

While the Knight Exemplar Seneschal is disabled, it cannot suffer any additional damage, as none of its five damage boxes are unmarked. If some effect causes the Knight Exemplar Seneschal to heal any points, then it is no longer disabled and can be disabled again (once more triggering Restoration). If the Knight Exemplar Seneschal is still disabled at the beginning of its controller's next Maintenance Phase, the Knight Exemplar Seneschal is immediately destroyed.

Note that some abilities/effects can cause a model to be immediately destroyed or removed from play, both of which could circumvent Restoration.

jandrese
09-15-2015, 07:35 PM
My question mostly revolves around the question of what happens when a model is perpetually disabled.
Like if you are disabled can people target you with attacks. Do you take damage rolls, and if you do and they break armor do you become disabled again? Is there anything else that being disabled does that i'm not thinking of.

Being disabled does exactly what it says in the book: pretty much nothing. The Knight Exemplar Seneschal can still be targeted, he still blocks LOS (if not knocked down), he can still engage and be engaged, and can even make freestrikes. No model in the game can drop below 0 HP, so if he takes damage again while disabled it won't do anything. Don't forget that he does heal himself if faction friendly models are killed in his command area. If he heals himself he can of course be damaged again, perhaps even to the disabled state.

juckto
09-15-2015, 09:24 PM
he still blocks LOS (if not knocked down), he can still engage and be engaged, and can even make freestrikes.
He's knocked down as soon as he is disabled, so pretty much all of that is untrue.

Leonard_Dukes
09-15-2015, 09:32 PM
He's knocked down as soon as he is disabled, so pretty much all of that is untrue.

There are plenty of ways to prevent the model from becoming knocked down, or to cause it to immediately stand up.

I think the point that Jandrese is making is that if not knocked down the model still behaves pretty much as normal, despite being disabled.

W0lfBane
09-15-2015, 10:18 PM
OK
Thanks guys for the explanation and apologies for the whole thing with the abbreviations and stuff.

Hjard
09-15-2015, 10:34 PM
You could edit your first post / thread title (does this work on this board?) to include the full name, as this question will certainly come up now and then.