PDA

View Full Version : Shield wall vs aoe on hit



jack frost
10-07-2015, 07:45 PM
Some weapons dont have an aoe like normal. The gas grenade launcher of the assault kommandoes is one.

Now normally when you shoot someone with an aoe and the model hit is shield guarded the shield guard takes the hit but the aoe doesnt move.

For weapins like gas grenades do the aoes center on the shield guard because that is the model that fullfills the "being hit" requirement?

Leonard_Dukes
10-07-2015, 07:52 PM
The reason that an AoE template doesn't normally move even when affected by Shield Guard is that the core rules instruct you to "Center the AOE template over the point of impact—in the case of a direct hit, the center of the targeted model’s base." Though Shield Guard changes which model is directly hit, it doesn't change which model was targeted.

In the case of Strangle Gas, though, you are instructed "If [the attack] hits, center a 3" AOE gas effect on the model hit" This is a specific rule that overrides the general rule telling you to center the AOE on the model originally targeted. So in this case, you center the Strangle Gas template on the Shield Guard model.

For reference, see this thread with the same answer (https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?217520-Strangle-Gas-Shield-Guard&p=2933765&viewfull=1#post2933765) that was locked without Infernal comment, indicating a correct response.

Rift
10-07-2015, 10:05 PM
A tie in question if I may

If the aoe shot was from an avenger, so the shield guard takes the hit but the aoe stays on the original target....would the original target be knocked down ?

Stormpuppy_Infantry
10-07-2015, 10:48 PM
A tie in question if I may

If the aoe shot was from an avenger, so the shield guard takes the hit but the aoe stays on the original target....would the original target be knocked down ?
No because it wasn't hit.

Rift
10-08-2015, 02:40 AM
so strange

Leo_the_Rat
10-08-2015, 02:56 AM
You may want to change the title of this thread since it refers to shield wall and you are discussing shield guard.

Stormpuppy_Infantry
10-08-2015, 04:33 AM
so strange

Not at all. When a model uses Shield Guard, or the model hit uses Sacrificial Pawn, or something like these, the original target is not considered as hit. Because Queke affects all models hit when it scores direct hit an enemy model, only models hit are knocked down, and all models not hit by the attack include the original target are not affected.

If you want to ask more, I recommend to search about this or dig a new thread because that is not the topic of this thread.