PDA

View Full Version : Blighted Breath effects and overlapping rounds



Leonard_Dukes
10-07-2015, 08:46 PM
Blighted Breath - At the beginning of this model's activation, choose one of the following Blighted Breath effects. While within 5" of this model, models are affected by the chosen effect. Blighted Breath lasts for one round.


Blightfire - The AOE remains in play for one round. While within the AOE, models are affected by the chosen Blighted Breath effect.


Return Fire - When target friendly Faction model is targeted by an enemy ranged attack, after the attack is resolved the affected model can make one normal melee or ranged attack, then Return Fire expires.


On the Legion player's turn, the Blightbringer activates and chooses Withering Ash as its Blighted Breath effect.

After its activation ends, Absylonia2 activates and casts Return Fire on the Blightbringer.

During the opponent's next turn, Return Fire is triggered and the Blightbringer makes a ranged attack, placing a 5" Blightfire template with the Withering Ash effect into play.

The Legion player's next turn begins, and effects that last "for one round" that began on his last turn, such as Blighted Breath, expire. Effects that last "for one round" that were put into play on the opponent's turn, such as the Blightfire template, remain in play.

1. Does the Blightfire template currently have no effect applies to models within it, since Blighted Breath has expired? Or does it keep the Blighted Breath effect chosen when it was put into play?

2. When the Blighbringer activates and chooses a new Blighted Breath effect, such as Spiritual Corruption, does this effect apply to the Blightfire template put into play the previous turn?

solkan
10-07-2015, 09:33 PM
"the chosen Blighted Breath effect" is the Blighted Breath effect that was chosen when the template was placed in the game. That's going to remain true even if some effect caused the Blighted Breath effect to immediately expire.

Hjard
10-07-2015, 11:10 PM
"the chosen Blighted Breath effect" is the Blighted Breath effect that was chosen when the template was placed in the game. That's going to remain true even if some effect caused the Blighted Breath effect to immediately expire.

Considering the recent ruling on "Scather templates under Nightlurker Animus = Magical Scater templates" I'd second solkans answer

DarkLegacy
10-08-2015, 05:17 AM
Considering the Magical Weapon and AOEs that remain in play ruling we just reversed, the AOE keeps the Blighted Breathe effect it had when it was put into play.

Leonard_Dukes
10-08-2015, 07:01 AM
Considering the Magical Weapon and AOEs that remain in play ruling we just reversed, the AOE keeps the Blighted Breathe effect it had when it was put into play.

Sounds good to me. No further questions.