PDA

View Full Version : Throw queries



Aerospider
10-16-2015, 12:02 AM
I did try my search-fu, but couldn't find definitively clear answers to the following:

1 - Deviation determines a point on the battlefield. Is the thrown model moved up to the point or placed centrally on the point (as one would with an AoE)?

2 - The thrown model cannot be thrown towards the throwing model, but can it deviate such that the resulting path is towards the thrower or must the deviation direction be re-rolled?

3 - If the deviation can move the thrown model towards the throwing model and the path crosses the throwing model's own base does the thrown model move over the throwing model regardless of base size?

4 - For a single-handed throw the distance and direction are measured from the thrown model. Is the same true of a double-handed throw?

Stormpuppy_Infantry
10-16-2015, 12:38 AM
I did try my search-fu, but couldn't find definitively clear answers to the following:

1 - Deviation determines a point on the battlefield. Is the thrown model moved up to the point or placed centrally on the point (as one would with an AoE)?


... From this point, determine the thrown model’s actual point of impact by rolling for deviation. Referencing the deviation rules (pp. 59-60), roll a d6 for direction and a d3 for distance in inches. The deviation distance cannot exceed half the distance between the thrown model and the intended point of impact.

The thrown model is moved directly from its current location in a straight line to the determined point of impact.

---


2 - The thrown model cannot be thrown towards the throwing model, but can it deviate such that the resulting path is towards the thrower or must the deviation direction be re-rolled?

Nothing says that it must reroll the direction. It just moves to the direction as if it is the intended place. Also note this:


The deviation distance cannot exceed half the distance between the thrown model and the intended point of impact.

---


3 - If the deviation can move the thrown model towards the throwing model and the path crosses the throwing model's own base does the thrown model move over the throwing model regardless of base size?

See above. I think that it is impossible to do because of that.

(added) See Mortimer's post below of this. Actually it is possible. In this case, both thrower and thrown models are knocked down.

---


4 - For a single-handed throw the distance and direction are measured from the thrown model. Is the same true of a double-handed throw?

... To determine the direction of the double-hand throw, the attacker can either follow the steps for determining the direction of a regular throw (see “Being Thrown,” previous) or simply throw the model at another model within the attacker’s line of sight. ...

Mortimer
10-16-2015, 12:45 AM
Here are some older links with pictures from high-quality CAD packages showing that it's possible to deviate to a position where the throwee would cross the thrower's base. Both are hilariously knocked down.

https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?7084-Throwing-behind&p=122284&viewfull=1#post122284
https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?71605-Throwing-and-the-deviation-whacks-your-own-base&p=982938&viewfull=1#post982938

Stormpuppy_Infantry
10-16-2015, 12:56 AM
Here are some older links with pictures from high-quality CAD packages showing that it's possible to deviate to a position where the throwee would cross the thrower's base. Both are hilariously knocked down.

https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?7084-Throwing-behind&p=122284&viewfull=1#post122284
https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?71605-Throwing-and-the-deviation-whacks-your-own-base&p=982938&viewfull=1#post982938

Oops, then it is actually possible.... Thanks for note this.

Aerospider
10-16-2015, 02:18 AM
Here are some older links with pictures from high-quality CAD packages showing that it's possible to deviate to a position where the throwee would cross the thrower's base. Both are hilariously knocked down.

https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?7084-Throwing-behind&p=122284&viewfull=1#post122284
https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?71605-Throwing-and-the-deviation-whacks-your-own-base&p=982938&viewfull=1#post982938

That's amazing. Love it.

Aerospider
10-16-2015, 02:20 AM
---



Nothing says that it must reroll the direction. It just moves to the direction as if it is the intended place. Also note this:



---



See above. I think that it is impossible to do because of that.

(added) See Mortimer's post below of this. Actually it is possible. In this case, both thrower and thrown models are knocked down.

---

Sorry for being dense, but I don't see clear answers to 1 and 4 in the text you quoted.

1 - Point of impact is edge of base rather than centre?

4 - When throwing at another model, LOS is determined from the thrower but distance is still measured from the thrown model?

Mortimer
10-16-2015, 04:48 AM
It might help to include a bit more of the text Stormpuppy quoted:


The thrown model is moved directly from its current location in a straight line to the determined point of impact. A thrown model moves through models with smaller bases during this movement without contacting them. Unlike when a model is slammed, rough terrain and obstacles do not affect this movement, but the thrown model still stops if it contacts an obstruction or a model with an equal or larger-sized base.

So, you do not just place the thrown model at the deviation point - you move him towards it in a straight line, checking as you go for contact with equal-or-larger bases and obstructions. The destination point should line up with the center of his base if nothing stops his movement.

(Edit) - I thought you were referring to your original questions 1 and 4, but must've skipped right past the next couple of lines, sorry!

vintersbastard
10-16-2015, 04:49 AM
1 - Point of impact is edge of base rather than centre?You center the thrown model over the point of impact, as shown in the graph in the book. Also Infernally confirmed here (https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?91766-Throw-deviation-Center-of-base-or-edge&p=1231627&viewfull=1#post1231627).



4 - When throwing at another model, LOS is determined from the thrower but distance is still measured from the thrown model?Distance is measured from the model thrown, cf. here (https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?122396-Double-Handed-Throws&p=1635984&viewfull=1#post1635984).

Aerospider
10-16-2015, 08:54 AM
That's great, thanks folks.