PDA

View Full Version : Usability walkthrough of the new app

w0rmw00d
10-29-2015, 08:54 PM
Hey Tinker House crew!

I spent some time doing just a short usability walk through and found some issues that I thought I would mention here, (FYI- this is what I do for a living). My walk through was done on the iPad Mini. Some of the items I'll note may have been mentioned already by someone else, but that's not a bad thing; it just means that issue is probably more obvious.

None of this is meant to be a criticism of anyone's design skill or anything like that. This is just feedback to help try to make the experience better. I do understand that there are technical and other limitations, so I don't expect everything, (or anything), I bring up here to get addressed. I haven't gotten into the guts of the army builder experience yet, but on the main menu and card navigation experiences I've seen a few areas that could be looked at:

Login menu
No I-bar visible in the primary login/password areas. Until I start typing I have no idea when section I'm in.
If login fails, I’m told to visit a website and then kicked out of the login screen. Ideally it should keep the login open so I can elect to recover my ID or PW.
May want to have a "visible PW" option.

Settings
Changing a setting and then pressing “Accept” appears to not do anything. There's no confirmation.
There is no Cancel button. If I tap Settings by accident I have no clear exit if I don't want to change anything. While you can tap outside the menu to exit this is not an obvious exit action, (and can lead to accidental closes when someone does want to change a setting).
Descriptive text color choice in Settings is difficult to read.

Navigation placement
Nonstandard format: actions/navigations save for the primary two are at the bottom of the screen. I can’t say it’s an issue without testing, but it's probably not ideal placement.
Icons are small for being on a tablet.

Hamburger menu and it's contents