PDA

View Full Version : Specialists/Valachev



joelker41
12-03-2015, 12:07 AM
I found a thread detailing this answer already I just want to make it means what I think it means:

https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?188717-Specialists-and-Relationships&highlight=Valachev+specialists

So....if I am running Zerkova2 Tier 4 and have Alexia1 be the mercenary unit I can then include Aiyana and Holt or TAC (or both) as listed specialists that say "Valachev Attached" and I can change the Merc unit because it doesn't change tier level?

Sorry about how long this question is just making sure this specific interaction is legal.

Duckboy
12-03-2015, 01:03 AM
Valachev in attached to UNIT A (Nyss). If you sub UNIT A with a unit from your specialist list, the relationship has to be defined in your specilaist list. Meaning Boomhowler has to have the relationship of having Valachev attached to it if you choose to sub his unit in your army it would be to replace the Nyss unit as SPECIALIST UNIT A.

So the relationship for Valachev is UNIT A or SPECIALIST UNIT A and both have to be listed in your army list and specialist list as being attached to Valachev when you play them.

From TUM, yes that would be allowed.

Lego-Pup
12-03-2015, 02:32 AM
A follow up question to this, would this work for any unit attachment (and weapon attachment)?

For example: Say i have a max unit of sword knights in my main list with their UA attached and a min unit of sword knights in my specialists. Can I swap the max unit for the min unit and then add the UA to the min unit? Assuming of course the relationships were stated.

Lego-Pup
12-03-2015, 02:46 AM
Further follow up question.

Assuming not in a theme force but rather a regular list. I have valachev attached to the nyss in my main list and boomhowlers in the specialists with the relationship to valachev. I also have a unit of iron fang pikemen in the main list. Could I swap the IFP for the boomhowlers and attach valachev to the boomhowlers instead of the nyss? Or would I need to swap the nyss for the boomhowlers instead?

Mod_Neldar
12-03-2015, 04:38 AM
Valachev can't attach to more than one unit in a list, right?

What you've described is a list with 2-3 Valachev's which breaks a basic list construction rule.

Remember, the 70 point list has to be legal and a UA can't attach to 2-3 units simultaneously.

Lego-Pup
12-03-2015, 05:00 AM
That is how I always thought it worked.

But if you follow the link posted by the OP then you will see that TUM states that you can swap out the unit valachev is attached to.

Maybe that thread was written before TUM became an infernal?

Mod_Neldar
12-03-2015, 05:26 AM
No. He's was an infernal at the time. However, since then there have been multiple Judge rulings that counter that and likely supersede it.

One is even on the front page of this forum made last week.

Lego-Pup
12-03-2015, 05:30 AM
Thanks Neldar for bringing order back to my world.

So this post by LEJ is all anyone needs when considering specialists https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?241947-ADR-Rules-question&p=3346111&viewfull=1#post3346111

joelker41
12-03-2015, 01:11 PM
Ah thanks guys. I'd feel terrible if I got it wrong. Appreciate it!