PDA

View Full Version : Ride-By Attacks With No Combat Action?

Kazarak
12-10-2015, 06:30 PM
The title says it all: can a cavalry model declare a Ride-By Attack, start moving, stop its movement to cast spells, choose not to perform a Combat Action, and then continue its movement?

Page 62
The model makes a full advance and can halt its movement at any point to make a combat action. [...] After it ends its combat action, the model resumes its movement. [...] A cavalry [model] making a ride-by attack must complete both its movement and its combat action before the next model begins its normal movement.

This seems like a paradox situation to me: the movement was stopped to perform an action, but no action was taken, so the movement couldn't stop, so no spells could have been cast... and the model couldn't resume its movement until it completed its action anyway!

But I'm new to Warmachine, so I'm probably wrong. Thanks in advance!

Stormpuppy_Infantry
12-10-2015, 06:42 PM
A cavalry model can combine its normal movement and action in a ride-by attack.

It seems that the model cannot make ride by attack if it does not has the action.

Edit: I was misread your question. It wasn't the question about the model that was forfeit its action.

The model must choose to make the combat action if it makes ride by attack. It does not means that the model have to attack something though.

IceShadow
12-10-2015, 06:52 PM
You always will get an action during your turn unless you have to sacrifice for some reason. As stated, you don't need to make attacks, however.

Kazarak
12-10-2015, 08:52 PM
So the model has to make a Combat Action during a Ride-By Attack; but you can choose to have the model do nothing during that action? Seems odd, but works for me.

Leonard_Dukes
12-10-2015, 10:00 PM
So the model has to make a Combat Action during a Ride-By Attack; but you can choose to have the model do nothing during that action? Seems odd, but works for me.