PDA

View Full Version : Does the damage rolls caused by Lightning Generator are simultaneous?



Stormpuppy_Infantry
01-09-2016, 10:39 AM
I am searched for that but what I can find are two unlocked posts.

https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?161386-lightning-generator-%28stormtroll%29&highlight=simultaneous+lightning+generator

https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?187262-Lightning-Generator-Which-parts-are-simultaneous&highlight=simultaneous+lightning+generator

Lightning Generator uses the same wording as Chain Lightning so personally I think that Lightning Generator is also causes simultaneous damage rolls, but is that correct?


... Attacks that generate multiple attack and/or damage rolls do so simultaneously. ...

But Lightning Generator is not an attack, while Chain Lightning is.

lord17c
01-09-2016, 12:07 PM
short an infernal saying otherwise, I'd think that the damage rolls are all simultaneous. Lighting generator is started by a ranged attack though, so I'd think its the same.

solkan
01-09-2016, 01:41 PM
I think somewhere along the line a general rule was issued "Never, ever confuse Chain Lightning and Electro Leap". :eek:

Lightning Generator uses the structure that Electro Leap does, not the same structure that Chain Lightning does. More importantly, Chain Lightning is an attack itself (an offensive spell whose effect is the leap) vs. Lightning Generator/Electro Leap (an effect triggered by an attack hitting).

Storm Strider's Lightning Generator

When a model is hit with this weapon, lightning arcs from that model to d3 consecutive additional models. The lightning arcs ...
vs. the Stormclad's Electro Leap on the Generator Blade and Generator Blast

When a model is hit with this weapon, you can have lightning arc to the nearest model within 4" of the model hit., ignoring the attacking model. ...

Chain Lightning (from Artificer General Nemo)

A model hit by Chain Lightning suffers a POW 10 electrical damage roll, and lightning arcs from that model to d6 consecutive additional models. ...

Threads from the archives: Electro Leap and Thresher:
https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?160962-Electro-Leap-and-Thresher

I believe the description in this post is correct, although the thread itself was fouled by necromancy: https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?161116-Another-Thresher-interaction&p=2043779&viewfull=1#post2043779

Stormpuppy_Infantry
01-10-2016, 12:18 AM
Lightning Generator uses the structure that Electro Leap does, not the same structure that Chain Lightning does. More importantly, Chain Lightning is an attack itself (an offensive spell whose effect is the leap) vs. Lightning Generator/Electro Leap (an effect triggered by an attack hitting).


When a model is hit with this weapon, lightning arcs from that model to d3 consecutive additional models. ...


A model hit by Chain Lightning suffers a POW 10 electrical damage roll, and lightning arcs from that model to d6 consecutive additional models. ...
The lined parts are the same point. Though one is an attack but an another one is not. Anyway, I am not sure about this because no rules will supports this.


Threads from the archives: Electro Leap and Thresher:
https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?160962-Electro-Leap-and-Thresher

I believe the description in this post is correct, although the thread itself was fouled by necromancy: https://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?161116-Another-Thresher-interaction&p=2043779&viewfull=1#post2043779

I think that it is not the same situation with what I ask. Or it will be the same case with this because these Electro-Leaps are also caused by simultaneous hits?

Personally I am agreed with the post as well, because these effects are caused by simultaneous hits.