PDA

View Full Version : Trample, Free Strike, Promotion



BWagsKP
04-07-2016, 11:12 AM
Suppose a heavy warjack tramples over a Bane Knight Unit Leader, passing another Bane Knight that will be eligible to make a free strike.

If the eligible Bane Knight is promoted after the leader is killed by the trample, can it still make the free strike?

Thinking no, because the language in the trample rules calls out "this model". Field promotion replaces the model. The grunt model is destroyed, replaced by the leader model.

Or can the destroyed grunt model still make the free strike within the context of the trample rules?

Grey Templar
04-07-2016, 11:16 AM
Trample attacks are resolved before any free strikes resulting from the trample are resolved. So the model will be promoted, and be ineligible to make attacks due to that. So that model will not be able to make the free strike.

SageofLodoss
04-07-2016, 11:18 AM
Suppose a heavy warjack tramples over a Bane Knight Unit Leader, passing another Bane Knight that will be eligible to make a free strike.

If the eligible Bane Knight is promoted after the leader is killed by the trample, can it still make the free strike?

Thinking no, because the language in the trample rules calls out "this model". Field promotion replaces the model. The grunt model is destroyed, replaced by the leader model.

Or can the destroyed grunt model still make the free strike within the context of the trample rules?

Timing says to resolve all the effects of destroying models with the trample attacks before moving on to the Free Strikes, so I believe that would mean the model has been promoted and would thus be no longer eligible to make the free strike on account of the promotion rules saying they can't make attacks on the turn they promoted.