PDA

View Full Version : MK3 Warjack Points



Tainted Coil
06-12-2016, 08:10 AM
Do you have to spend all available warjack points?

Page 24 States:

"...These bonus points are in addition to the army points determined for the game, and any warjack points not spent on warjacks for a warcaster's battlegroup are lost."

Emphasis mine.

Xarlaxas
06-12-2016, 08:31 AM
Based on the emphasis you've put on the quotation, I think that you're not forced to spend all the points, just that, if you don't spend all of them, you lose them: they're "extra" points after all.

I believe it says somewhere (haven't read it fully yet) that you can't be more than 5 points under the limit for your List, but I guess that the WJ points don't count to that.

Clarification, as usual would be helpful!

Mr. Golden Deal
06-12-2016, 09:34 AM
Based on the emphasis you've put on the quotation, I think that you're not forced to spend all the points, just that, if you don't spend all of them, you lose them: they're "extra" points after all.

I believe it says somewhere (haven't read it fully yet) that you can't be more than 5 points under the limit for your List, but I guess that the WJ points don't count to that.

Clarification, as usual would be helpful!
Steamroller rules for Mk 2 required you to have no more than 2 unspent points in a list, which includes warjack/warbeast points. The Steamroller document for Mk 3 rules should be coming shortly.

Nerzule
06-12-2016, 11:15 AM
Based on the emphasis you've put on the quotation, I think that you're not forced to spend all the points, just that, if you don't spend all of them, you lose them: they're "extra" points after all.

I believe it says somewhere (haven't read it fully yet) that you can't be more than 5 points under the limit for your List, but I guess that the WJ points don't count to that.

Clarification, as usual would be helpful!

It does say under the Encounter Levels Header that

"You need not spend every point
available, but your army’s point total cannot be more than 5
points under the determined amount and cannot exceed the
set number of army points."

So you'd need to fill the full encounter level with other stuff, than warjacks up to 5 points away from your total.

Tainted Coil
06-12-2016, 12:57 PM
This was my conclusion as well. You are not required to spend all you WJ points but your list can't be more than 5pts under. So in a sense you can deduct up to 5 from you WJ points and still have a legal list assuming you fill up the other points exactly.

This will be important when you have odd numbers of WJ points left, like 1-3, and your choice is to spend more points on another warjack you don't want or just eat the loss.

niceas
06-17-2016, 09:40 AM
From the Steamroller document:


An army list point total cannot exceed the point size chosen for the event and cannot be more than 4 points under that point size (including warjack/warbeast points). For example, Kaelyssa has 29 warjack points, so a 75 point Kaelyssa army must include 100 to 104 points of models