PDA

View Full Version : Kraye's feat Horsepower question--"Affected Models"



Creaux
06-11-2010, 11:59 PM
"Friendly knocked down Faction warjacks currently in Krayeʼs control area that were not knocked down this turn immediately stand up. Friendly Faction warjacks currently in his control area can immediately turn to face any direction. Affected warjacks can charge without spending focus. Affected charging models gain +2˝ movement. Melee attack rolls made by affected warjacks are boosted. Horsepower lasts for one turn."

What precisely are "affected models" and "affected warjacks?" Does a model have to be under the targeting area of the feat to be an affected model, or does it need to be affected by a previous clause of the feat?

So, as a question, can Kraye or non-warjacks in Kraye's control area charge with +2 movement under the affects of Horsepower? Can mercenary jacks gain the boosted attack rolls?

Thanks!

Tsaimath
06-12-2010, 12:18 AM
I would read it as:
Friendly Faction Warjacks in Control Area are affected and can stand up and change facing
As a "side effect" after the effects of the feat (standing up and turning) they can charge without spending focus, gain +2 movement on their charge and boosted meele-attackrolls.

So only friendly Faction Warjacks currently in Kraye's control area are affected. So non-warjacks can't charge with +2 movement and Merc-Jacks won't gain boosted attack rolls.

FearLord
06-12-2010, 01:47 AM
Think of it as 2 pulses:

Pulse one: Friendly faction warjacks that are knocked down stand up. - just affects knocked down friendly faction warjacks.

Pulse two: Friendly faction warjacks turn to face any direction. - affects all friendly faction warjacks (including those that the first pulse allowed to stand up).

Combine those lists and you have all the affected models for the rest of the feat (although obviously the second list will include the first list)...

Creaux
06-12-2010, 02:07 AM
So, rules-wise, you aren't "affected" by something unless it actually interacts with you, rules-wise? Being hit with the trigger for it doesn't count as "affected?" I'm most curious about the two different levels of specificity in the last three sentences, where two talk about afffected warjacks and one talks about affected models. Why is there this difference?

Yaum
06-12-2010, 04:47 AM
"Charging model" is a common term used in the rules. They don't mention "charging warjacks". Must be they wanted to keep consistency.
Otherwise, is the Feat clear to you ?

It only affects Friendly Faction Warjacks in his CTRL area at the moment Kraye uses the Feat. They can :
- Stand up if they were Knocked Down (unless KD'ed this turn)
- Change their facing
- Charge for free
- Gain +2 movement if they charge
- Gain boosted melee attack rolls

:)

gartramok
06-27-2010, 01:41 AM
Does this feat allow a model to be activated twice in one turn? IE, activate Kraye at the end of the turn, call the feat, and reactivate all the 'jacks in his control area? The tactical tips says the movement bonuses are only applicable during a model's activation, so is this feat down to the timing of Kraye's activation - the earlier he is activated the more models he can "affect"? Or if activated last, all 'jacks activate again? That would make this feat far too powerful imo; I know some feats are better than others but this takes the biscuit! In Legends it says "Affected warjacks may charge at SPD +5" without spending focus during their activations this turn." It is worded differently in the new Forces book so is this a little oversight or a larger change in the rule? Please advise!

vintersbastard
06-27-2010, 04:51 AM
If it would allow for a second activation, it would say so.
As it doesn't, it doesn't.